Wirral School honoured at the Educate Awards

A Wirral school was crowned a winner at the Educate Awards on Friday 18 November.

Wirral Grammar School for Boys proudly took home the Careers & Enterprise Award.

The award, sponsored by Progress Careers, recognises schools, academies and colleges that are preparing young people the best they can for their future careers.

Judges were impressed by Wirral Grammar School for Boys’ commitment to preparing its students for the future, which includes an aspirational programme that is implemented through all years and teaches ‘Careers’ as a stand-alone topic.

The school also holds interactive events during the year and has utilised close partnerships and challenges like the ‘Fuel10K Challenge’ to encourage students to be engaged with enterprise.

Now in its eleventh year, the Educate Awards showcases the hard work and creativity that takes place in the education sector, from STEM and performing arts to sport and literacy.

The awards also recognise the individuals who bring schools and colleges to life, from inspiring teachers and dedicated support staff to efficient business managers and strategic leadership teams.

In partnership with Copyrite Systems and Ricoh, the Educate Awards took place at the Liverpool Cathedral and welcomed over 600 guests. The evening was hosted by broadcaster, Simon ‘Rossie’ Ross.

Alongside the awards ceremony was a delicious three course gala dinner and glittering entertainment from schools around the region, including a Legally Blonde The Musical medley by St Mary’s Catholic College in Wallasey.

Kim O’Brien, founder of the Educate Awards, said, “Congratulations to Wirral Grammar School for Boys who won at this year’s Educate Awards, and a huge thank you to St Mary’s Catholic College for such an incredible performance of Legally Blonde The Musical on the night!

“A big well done to the runners up and finalists too. Results this year were incredibly close, and judges had a difficult time deciding not only the shortlist but also overall the winners.

Kim added: “The Educate Awards team is proud to champion the innovation, diversity and dedication that is taking place in educational establishments around the region. Entries will open again in February 2023 and we encourage all types of schools and colleges to submit as many entries as they like, for free.”

The Educate Awards 2022 winners and runners up:

1. The Communication Award

Winner: Litherland High School, Sefton

Runner up: Maricourt Catholic High School, Sefton

2. Outstanding Commitment to the Environment

Winner: Neston High School, Cheshire

Runner up: Netherton Moss Primary School, Sefton

3. Careers & Enterprise Award

Winner: Wirral Grammar School for Boys

Runner up: Ridgeway High School, Wirral

4. SEND Provision Award

Winner: Notre Dame Catholic College, Liverpool

Runner up: Rainford High, St Helens

5. Innovative & Creative Literacy Award

Winner: Eldon Primary School, Preston

Runner up: Cowley International College, St Helens

6. Outstanding Commitment to STEM

Winner: Maghull High School, Sefton

Runner up: Great Crosby Catholic Primary School, Sefton

7. Outstanding Arts in School

Winner: The Hollins, Accrington

Runner up: Stockport Academy, Greater Manchester

8. Community Partnership Award

Winner: Archbishop Blanch School, Liverpool

Runner up: Chorlton High School, Manchester

9. Mental Health & Wellbeing Award

Winner: St Michael’s Catholic Primary School, Widnes

Runner up: Wright Robinson College, Manchester

10. Outstanding Commitment to Sport in Primary School

Winner: St Elizabeth’s Catholic Primary School, Sefton

Runner up: St Joseph’s Catholic Primary School, Wallasey, Wirral

11. Outstanding Commitment to Sport in Secondary School

Winner: Wright Robinson College, Manchester

Runner up: Rainford High, St Helens

12. Leadership Team of the Year

Winner: St Wilfrid’s Church of England Primary Academy, Wigan

Runner up: Wright Robinson College, Manchester

13. Business Manager of the Year

Winner: Sue McMullen, St Michael’s Catholic Primary School, Widnes

Runner up: Stuart Davidson, Myerscough College, Preston

14. Teacher of the Year

Winner: Kira Redmond, St Peter’s CE Primary School, Bolton

Runner up: Stephanie Wardale, Hillside High School, Sefton

15. School Support Star of the Year

Winner: Mike Smith, Cardinal Langley RC High School, Rochdale

Runner up: Mark Costello, Launchpad Centre KS4, St Helens

16. Most Inspirational Alternative Provision

Winner: Endeavour-Darwen Vale High School, Blackburn

Runner up: Holy Family Catholic Multi Academy Trust, Wirral

17. Most Inspirational 16-18 Education Provider

Winner: Wargrave House School and College, Newton-le-Willows

Runner up: Everton Football College, Liverpool

18. Most Inspirational Secondary School

Winner: Rainford High, St Helens

Runner up: The Hollins, Accrington

19. Most Inspirational Primary School

Winner: Parish CE Primary School, St Helens

Runner up: St Peter’s CE Primary School, Bolton

20. WOW Recognition Award

Winner: The Academy of St Nicholas, Liverpool

Runner up: Beech Hall School, Cheshire

Why not follow birkenhead.news on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter? You can also send story ideas to news@birkenhead.news

Share this

Subscribe to our FREE newsletter

Facebook comments

Latest news