Wirral council leader appointed as LCR Deputy Metro Mayor

Steve Rotheram, Metro Mayor of the Liverpool City Region, has announced the top team for his new term in office, including the appointment of Cllr Janette Williamson, Leader of Wirral Council, as the first Deputy Metro Mayor.  The appointments are expected to be endorsed at the Combined Authority’s Annual General Meeting on Friday, 4 June.

Mayor Rotheram was resoundingly re-elected with an increased majority of over 132,000 on the first round of voting in the recent local elections, winning almost 60% of the vote across the region and a majority in each of the six local authority area.

Speaking about the appointments, Mayor Rotheram said, “It’s an honour to have been re-elected as Metro Mayor; I’m really proud that people across our region recognised the work we’ve done over the last four years and put their faith in me in even greater numbers than before.

“I’m determined to hit the ground running delivering on my manifesto and making our region the fairest, strongest and greenest in the country. I want to take greater control of our transport system, help to lead the Green Industrial Revolution and give our young people opportunities to get on in life. I want the Liverpool City Region to be a place with no one left behind.

“To do that, I need a strong team around me. I’m really lucky to have some fantastic local leaders to help shape and deliver on my vision for the region. Janette has been a trailblazer in our City Region and I’m delighted that she continues to make history as our first Deputy Mayor.”

Cllr Janette Williamson: “It is a huge honour to be appointed the first Deputy Metro Mayor of the Liverpool City Region.

Cllr Janette Williamson said, “As the first woman to join the Combined Authority, and now first person to hold this newly created post working alongside Steve Rotheram, I’m proud to be able to play my part representing women at this regional level and working for everyone across our fantastic City Region.

“People here have seen that devolution can really deliver and improve people’s lives. I look forward to working with Steve Rotheram, and the rest of the Combined Authority, to deliver even more for the people of the Liverpool City Region over the next three years.”

The role of Deputy Metro Mayor is a new position that will rotate around the Leaders and Mayor of the Combined Authority’s six constituent local authorities every six months.

The full list of appointments is below:

Business SupportAsif HamidTBD
Criminal JusticeEmily SpurrellTBD
Transport & Air QualityCllr Liam Robinson (Kensington & Fairfield)MT committee rep
Inclusive Economy and The Third SectorCllr Janette Williamson (Liscard)Cllr Kate Groucutt (Parr, St. Helens)
Culture, Tourism & The Visitor EconomyCllr Mike Wharton (Ditton, Hale Village and Halebank)Cllr Shelley Powell (Halewood North)
Climate Emergency & Renewable EnergyCllr David Baines (Windle)Cllr Gill Wood (Claughton)
Housing & Spatial FrameworkCllr Graham Morgan (Swanside)Cllr Trish Hardy (Litherland)
Digital Connectivity & InclusionCllr Ian Maher (Netherton and Orrell)Cllr Laura Robertson-Collins (Greenbank)
Education & Skills and Equality & DiversityMayor Joanne AndersonCllr Louise Whitley (Halton View)
Policy, Reform & ResourcesMetro Mayor Steve RotheramCllr Carla Thomas (St. Oswald)
Deputy Metro MayorCllr Janette Williamson
Tap or click the button to like us on Facebook

Tap or click the button to follow us on Twitter
Have you got a Wirral story? Email news@birkenhead.news

Facebook Comments