Wallasey and District Sunday Football League round-up, 7 May 2023

The title race for the MES Ltd First Division has finally run its course due to the One O’Clock Gun shooting down Trident in a five-goal thriller, in which Trident led 2-0 with efforts from Carl Navarro and Tyler Ward.

But the Gun responded with a goal from Tyler Smith and then Ricci Neill levelled matters before he fired home the late winner to clinch the title. Congratulations go to manager Kevin Hendrie for achieving the honour in a real dogfight of a campaign.

Vineyard took the runners-up accolades after claiming the points from JASGA FC who failed to field a team. So well done to Mike Sprott and his team for their battling performances throughout the season.

Another enthralling title finish also took place in the Moreton Alarms Supplies Second Division as West Kirby Athletic sprinted to the title with a 3-1 success over Shore Villa Athletic. Seb Peirce put West Kirby ahead before Charlie Roberts equalised, but then Matty Pipe edged Kirby ahead before Matty Goldsmith sealed the victory with a third in the dying minutes of this hard-fought encounter.

Congratulations go to all the West Kirby Athletic squad and management for an excellent season and also to secretary Dan Allen for his behind-the-scenes efforts.

Finishing only two points behind the winners in a great title race were AFC Shore Villa who completed their campaign with a 7-2 defeat of North West Harriers as Jordan McAteer netted a fine hat-trick, with Joe Robinson, Jack Watson, Alex Cavell, and Steve Smith bagging a goal apiece as AFC finished in style to claim runners-up spot. Firing the responses for Harriers were Adam Pickering and Riley Jones in a good contest.

There are only a few outstanding fixtures remaining and it is hoped every effort will be made to get these completed by all those involved. Applications for league membership are still being accepted and interested parties need to email the league secretary on t.potterpotter@btinternet.com

First Division Table

1.One O’Clock Gun FC12822282126
2.Vineyard FC14743261825
3.Bromborough Town FC14653262523
4.Trident FC14635332721
5.Liscard Panthers FC14527283717
6.PLCC FC13445262716
7.JASGA FC12345151413
8.Wallasey Wanderers FC13201126376

Second Division Table

1.West Kirby Athletic FC221813883255
2.AFC Shore Villa FC221723762553
3.Farmers Arms FC221345613643
4.Shore Villa Athletic211038445136
5.Ellesmere Port Red Lions FC221048473634
6.Barnston FC211119455334
7.North West Harriers FC21939504930
8.Shore Villa FC228212474426
9.Bromborough Athletic FC228212436026
10.Oxton Celtic FC218112494825
11.Wallasey Wolves FC224117266813
12.Park Royal FC22202017836

Why not follow birkenhead.news on Facebook and Twitter? You can also send story ideas to news@birkenhead.news

Share this

Sign up for our free newsletter using this form

Facebook comments

Latest news