Wallasey and District Sunday Football League round-up, 23 April 2023

The Capitol Cup Final produced an end-to-end encounter that was fiercely fought by Trident and Vineyard but well controlled by referee Grant Clark.

Neither keeper was stretched in the first half despite hard work from Michel Mocha and Jacob Cotgrave for Trident and Macauley Lewis and Ryan Slater for Vineyard, with both defences being solid.

The second half saw Trident showing more promise and they took the lead through a Michel Mocha goal and increased their lead when Harry Murray converted a penalty after a blatant foul.

Vineyard fought back though and Joel Campbell reduced the arrears following a fumbled save to put the game on a knife edge for the remaining minutes, but as chances went begging the final result was a 2-1 victory for Trident who were led really well by their man of the match Jacob Cotgrave.

Receiving the Man of the Match award for Vineyard was Ryan Slater, as both teams nominate an opposing player for the award.

Moreton Alarms Supplies Second Division action saw West Kirby Athletic near the finishing line following their 8-0 defeat of Park Royal, as the title run-in continues, thanks to trebles from both Seb Peirce and Owen Ainscough plus singles from Alex Wilson and Harry Davies to edge above inactive AFC Shore Villa.

Ellesmere Port Red Lions moved into the top four after a hard-fought 2-1 success over Bromborough Athletic, as Zac Rowlands and Andrew Supple netted the goals.

A solitary goal from Ben Windle gave Shore Villa a 1-0 verdict over Oxton Celtic. Barnston FC moved into the top six after their 3-2 victory against Wallasey Wolves, due to Jamie Mitchell bagging a brace and Josh Walters a single, with Dean Scott and Ashley Pugh hitting the responses.

All teams are reminded to confirm their fixtures with their opponents and match officials as per rule.

Images: 20 April 2023 Vineyard FC (Blue) v PLCC FC (Green) Credit: Bob Shaw

First Division Table

1.Vineyard FC123213126332618821
2.Trident FC134122226343124721
3.Bromborough Town FC132223315532121020
4.One O’Clock Gun FC92114016122519619
5.Liscard Panthers FC143132145272937-817
6.PLCC FC133221234452526-116
7.JASGA FC101222213431514113
8.Wallasey Wanderers FC1210510520102134-136

Second Division Table

1.West Kirby Athletic FC19902611151381295246
2.AFC Shore Villa FC19802621142355223344
3.Farmers Arms FC21712632134459322743
4.Ellesmere Port Red Lions FC21514533104748341434
5.Shore Villa Athletic FC1842161410354237533
6.Barnston FC2071330610194353-1031
7.North West Harriers FC195243148384439527
8.Shore Villa FC2151431782114744326
9.Oxton Celtic FC2151330981124948125
10.Bromborough Athletic FC2042430772113856-1823
11.Wallasey Wolves FC2221920841172668-4213
12.Park Royal FC21109101020191686-706

Why not follow birkenhead.news on Facebook and Twitter? You can also send story ideas to news@birkenhead.news

Share this

Sign up for our free newsletter using this form

Facebook comments

Latest news