Wallasey and District Sunday Football League round-up, 22 May 2022

Although one game remains to be played in the Mike O’Sullivan Garages First Division the final placings will remain the same, with congratulations being extended to Vale Athletic for claiming top spot and JASGA FC who became runners-up.

Results in mid-week saw Vale take the title with a 6-3 defeat of Eastham Rangers Colts. Sheridans FC triumphed 3-0 over Wallasey Wanderers, and Bromborough Town beat Eastham Rangers 2-0.

On Sunday, both JASGA FC and Sheridans FC claimed the points versus Eastham Rangers and Liscard Panthers who failed to field sufficient players. Eastham Rangers Colts took the spoils against Bromborough Town in a 3-1 victory that saw Adam Clarke net twice and an own goal secured the win, as Andy Simpson scored for Town.

The final fixture in the Moreton Alarms Supplies Second Division took place despite the appointed match official failing to make an entrance, but both Oxton Celtic and Trident agreed to appoint a stand-in official so that the game could go ahead and the teams complete their seasons. Trident ended the campaign with a 6-1 success thanks to Tom Mulryan grabbing a hat-trick, with Eddie Fellows netting a brace, and Joe Allensen fired a single in a well-contested affair.

Only one fixture is to play on Tuesday evening as Sheridans FC play Eastham Rangers Colts to finally close off yet another exhilarating season.

Thanks go to all teams for their input and endeavour in a thoroughly entertaining campaign and we can now all look forward to next season, albeit without some teams who have sought pastures new.

Thanks go to all the League Management Committee for all their hard work behind the scenes and praise also to our referee’s rep and those officials who never failed to fulfil their appointments.

League and Cup winners:

First Div Champions – Vale Athletic
Runners-up – JASGA FC
First Div cup winners – Sheridans FC
Finalists – Eastham Rangers Colts
Second Div Champions – The One O’Clock Gun
Runners-up – Trident
Second Div cup winners – Primrose FC
Finalists – Shore Villa
Capitol Cup winners – Wallasey Wanderers
Finalists – The One O’Clock Gun
Magee Cup winners – Sheridans FC
Finalists – Vineyard
Dutchman Cup winners – The One O’clock Gun
Finalists – Oxton Celtic
Wirral DFA Amateur cup finalists – Sheridans FC
Wirral DFA Junior cup winners – The One O’Clock Gun

The Wallasey & District SFL is looking for new applicants to join for the 2022/23 season.

Interested teams should either phone the league line 0151 630 0331, which has an answerphone if they need to leave a message.

Alternatively, you can email Tom Potter at t.potterpotter@btinternet.com

First Division Table

1.Vale Athletic18124250252540
2.JASGA FC18123348232539
4.Eastham Rangers Colts17100744261830
5.Wallasey Wanderers188283842-426
7.Bromborough Town187382436-1221
8.Liscard Panthers1860123953-1418
9.PLCC FC1850132759-3215
10.Eastham Rangers1831142956-2910

Second Division Table

1.One O’Clock Gun FC20172179215853
2.Trident FC20162271224950
3.Primrose FC20135269185144
4.Shore Villa FC20124478245440
5.Ellesmere Port Red Lions FC20100103740-330
6.Oxton Celtic FC208483935428
7.Park Royal FC2064104746122
8.North West Harriers FC2042143773-3614
9.Wallasey Wolves FC2042142565-4014
10.Shore Villa Athletic FC2034132971-4213
11.Bromborough Athletic FC20211712116-1047

Image: Janosch Diggelmann

Why not follow birkenhead.news on Facebook and Twitter? You can also send story ideas to news@birkenhead.news

Share this

Sign up for our free newsletter using this form

Facebook comments

Latest news