Wallasey and District Sunday Football League round-up, 19 March 2023

A very exciting and evenly matched Magee Cup Final staged at Cammell Laird 1907 FC saw PLCCFC triumph following a penalty shoot-out as they defeated One O’Clock Gun.

A first half of very few chances saw Gun take the lead through a penalty. Chris Reilly fired home with ease following an error by the PLCCFC keeper. Gun looked likely to increase their lead but some excellent PLCCFC defending denyed them.

The second period was a more evenly contested affair and following a corner PLCCFC captain, George Craven, glanced home the equaliser to set up a grandstand finish by both teams as they sought the winner.

The game ended all square at 1- 1, as neither team could convert their chances. The shoot-out resulted in a success for PLCCFC as they edged home 3-2 to take the trophy.

The outstanding Capitol Cup second round tie resulted in a 5-1 victory for Vineyard as they overcame Bromborough Athletic thanks to goals from Brad Wrench, Daz Winders, Tony Langrell, Ben Hawitt, and Jack Dunn.

In the Dutchman Cup semi-final, Shore Villa Athletic saw off the challenge of West Kirby Athletic in a 4-2 success due to efforts from Kieran Jones (2), Tom Rowlands, and a penalty by Ste Ryan. Hitting the responses were Seb Pierce and Matty Pipe.

Action from the Moreton Alarms Supplies Second Division saw AFC Shore Villa close the gap at the top following a 2-0 defeat of Park Royal as Jamie Smith and Stephen Griffiths found the net.

Barnston FC and Shore Villa fought out a 0-0 draw, but Farmers Arms eased home 4-1 versus Wallasey Wolves as Liam Pitt netted a treble and Mike Jenkinson fired a single.

Also taking the spoils were Ellesmere Port Red Lions who won a five-goal thriller 3-2 against Oxton Celtic. Harry Sutton was a two-goal hero for Celtic and Dom Hoppe bagged a brace for Lions, along with a single from Eric Gilmour.

Next Sunday sees the Second Division cup final between West Kirby Athletic and Shore Villa Athletic with an 11am kick off at Cammell Laird 1907 FC.

First Division Table

1.Trident FC124122126242821720
2.Bromborough Town FC132133315442021-119
3.Vineyard FC92203025222315817
4.One O’Clock Gun FC82113015122116516
5.Liscard Panthers FC122122144262835-714
6.PLCC FC103120223341921-212
7.JASGA FC81211212421111010
8.Wallasey Wanderers FC80041031071424-103

Second Division Table

To follow …

Why not follow birkenhead.news on Facebook and Twitter? You can also send story ideas to news@birkenhead.news

Share this

Sign up for our free newsletter using this form

Facebook comments

Latest news