Voting deadlines loom for May elections

On Thursday 6 May residents in Wirral will go to the polls to have their say on who represents them at local council elections, the Liverpool City Region mayoral election as well as Merseyside’s Police and Crime Commissioner.

Voters have a range of options for casting their ballot – in person, by post or by appointing someone they trust to vote in their place, known as a proxy vote. There are three fast-approaching deadlines that all voters need to be aware of.

1. Register to vote deadline: 11.59pm on Monday 19 April

People who have recently moved house, changed their name or never registered to vote before must register online by 11.59pm this Monday 19 April

2. Postal vote application deadline: 5pm on Tuesday 20 April

Postal voting is a safe, simple and convenient alternative to voting in person on election day. Registered voters must apply for a postal vote by downloading an application form and their completed form must be returned by 5pm on Tuesday 20 April.

If there isn’t time to post it back before the deadline, Wirral voters can email a scanned copy of their completed form to

3. Proxy vote application deadline: 5pm on Tuesday 27 April

Voters who are unable to vote in person can ask someone to vote on your behalf. This is known as a proxy vote. Proxy votes are only available in certain circumstances and voters must apply for a proxy vote by downloading an application form. Completed forms must be returned by 5pm on Tuesday 27 April by post or by emailing a scanned copy of their completed form to

Voting in person on Thursday 6 May

For those who choose to vote in person, polling stations will be safe places to vote on 6 May. Voters are encouraged to keep themselves and others safe by:

  • Wearing a face covering
  • Bringing their own pen or pencil
  • Cleaning their hands when entering and leaving the polling station
  • Keeping a safe distance

Voters should not attend the polling station if they have symptoms of Covid-19, or if they have been asked to self-isolate. There will be provisions in place to apply for an emergency proxy vote if required due to health circumstances.  

Kate Robinson, Electoral Services Manager for Wirral Council said:

“It’s important to make sure your voice is heard at the elections in May, and we are putting measures in place to help you cast your vote safely. You can vote either vote at a polling station, by post or by proxy.

“You can find more information about how to apply to vote by post or proxy on our website.”

“However you choose to vote, you must be registered in order to have your say at the elections – the easiest way to register is online at”

Ailsa Irvine, Director of Electoral Administration and Guidance at the Electoral Commission said:

“The choice on how to vote at the elections is yours – you can have your say in person, by post or by proxy. However you choose to cast your vote in May, you will be able to do so safely.

“If you’re voting in person, help keep yourself and others safe by following the safety measures that will be in place at the polling station.

“If you decide to vote by post, don’t wait until the deadline to apply. Sending your application now will make sure it is processed early, and your postal vote can be sent to you more quickly once the candidates for the election are confirmed. It’s easy to apply and you can find out how by visiting the Electoral Commission website.”  

For further information on elections in their area, how to register to vote, or how to apply to vote by post or by proxy, voters can visit This page will continue to be updated ahead of the polls.

Council elections will be taking place in all 22 Wirral wards:

Bebington – Bidston and St James – Birkenhead and Tranmere – Bromborough – Clatterbridge – Claughton – Eastham – Greasby, Frankby and Irby – Heswall – Hoylake and Meols – Leasowe and Moreton East – Liscard – Moreton West and Saughall Massie – New Brighton – Oxton – Pensby and Thingwall – Prenton – Rock Ferry – Seacombe – Upton – Wallasey – West Kirby and Thurstaston

The Liverpool City Region Mayoral election will also take place. The candidates are:

Gary Cargill, Green Party – Jade Marsden, Conservative – David Newman, Liberal Democrat – Steve Rotheram, Labour

The Merseyside Police and Crime Commissioner election will also take place. The candidates are:

Kris Brown, Liberal Democrat – Emily Spurrell, Labour – Bob Teesdale, Conservative

Have you got a Wirral story? Email

Like the Facebook page and follow @BirkenheadNews on Twitter

Read more articles.

Facebook Comments