Tranmere out of EFL Trophy on penalties

Tranmere visited League One Burton Albion yesterday evening in the EFL Trophy.

Match Report: Burton Albion v Tranmere Rovers

Burton Albion 1 v 1 Tranmere Rovers
Burton Albion
win on penalties
Carayol (90‎+‎2‎’)GoalsTurnbull (7‎’)
HT 0-1
Winnall Hemmings
Taylor Hughes
Adedeji Oshilaja Merrie
Dodoo Penalties Lewis
Butcher Hawkes
Hamer O’Connor
Kamwa Dacres-Cogley

Tranmere were dumped out of the EFL Trophy last night after a tense penalty shoot-out at Burton Albion.

Rovers had an energetic start to the game as within minutes of the whistle, a scrambled effort in the Burton box saw a double save from keeper Ben Garrett to deny Tranmere an early advantage.

A sharp-looking Tranmere kept up the pressure and Turnbull’s very close-range shot in the seventh minute beat Garrett to give Rovers the lead.

A few minutes later, Tranmere were banjaxed by the crossbar, when a Dacres-Cogley cross nearly found its way into the Burton net.

Agonisingly late in the game and into added time, a poor Tranmere clearance from a corner, followed by a bicycle kick towards the goal, nicely set up Burton’s Carayol, who slotted in from six yards.

The resulting penalty shootout was a tense and turbulent story of highs and lows.

At one penalty apiece, everything was square, but Burton’s Taylor couldn’t make his count and provided Tranmere with the advantage.

However, Tranmere’s fourth penalty kicker, Lewis, didn’t convert, making things level once again.

Neither Burton’s Hamer, nor Tranmere’s O’Connor could find the back of the net and when Dacres-Cogley did likewise, it was all over for Rovers.

Tranmere’s next game of the League Two season is away to Northampton Town on Saturday 3 December for a 3pm kick off.

Match Highlights

Post Match Interview


Credit: Tony Coombes
Credit: Tony Coombes
Credit: Tony Coombes
Credit: Tony Coombes
Credit: Tony Coombes


Burton Albion– Formation 4-3-3
1 Ben Garratt GK
37 Thomas Hamer DF
19 Charlie Lakin DF
5 Sam Hughes DF
4 Adedeji Oshilaja (C) DF
38 Michael Mancienne MF
25 Ciaran Gilligan MF
12 Tyler Onyango MF
14 Victor Adeboyejo FW
39 Bobby Kamwa FW
7 Joe Powell FW

24 Viljami Sinisalo SUB
8 Adrian Mariappa SUB
6 Calum Butcher SUB
21 Mustapha Carayol SUB
23 Terry Taylor SUB
45 Joseph Dodoo SUB
9 Sam Winnall SUB

Noureddine Maamria

Match Officials
Thomas Parsons
Assistants: Christopher Ward and Grant Taylor
Fourth official: David Richardson

Tranmere Rovers – Formation 4-4-2
23 Mateusz Hewelt GK
2 Josh Dacres-Cogley DF
3 Ethan Bristow DF
14 Jordan Turnbull DF
26 Dynel Simeu DF
6 Chris Merrie MF
7 Kieron Morris MF
4 Lee O’Connor MF
16 Jon Nolan MF
20 Elliott Nevitt FW
10 Kane Hemmings (C) FW

13 Joe Murphy SUB
19 Neill Byrne SUB
11 Josh Hawkes SUB
17 Rhys Hughes SUB
22 Paul Lewis SUB
27 Jake Burton SUB
32 Samuel Taylor SUB

Micky Mellon

Attendance: 591

Why not follow on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter? You can also send story ideas to

Facebook comments

Sign up for the FREE newsletter using this form:

Latest news