Tranmere in entertaining 2-2 draw with Harrogate

Tranmere visited Harrogate Town this evening at Wetherby Road for a 7:45pm kick-off, in their latest fixture of the 2021/22 League 2 season.

Micky Mellon’s side were victorious on their travels at the weekend, with an own goal from Rod McDonald enough for Rovers to claim all three points in a 1-0 win.

No injuries were picked up from Saturday’s win over Carlisle so Micky Mellon had the same squad at his disposal for this fixture.

Harrogate Town 2 – Tranmere Rovers 2

Harrogate continued their unbeaten home run tonight, now going 10 games without defeat in an entertaining 2-2 draw against Tranmere.

Manager Micky Mellon named an unchanged side from Saturday’s 1-0 win away at Carlisle United.

Harrogate captain Josh Falkingham made a clearance off the line from an early Sam Foley chance that beat the keeper.

Josh Dacres-Cogley was brought down by Harrogate’s Jack Diamond in the penalty area, leading to a spot-kick.

Jay Spearing made the penalty count, but only Rovers only held on to the lead for a few minutes before a penalty taken by Harrogate’s Jack Muldoon found its way into the top right corner of Doohan’s net.

A 51st minute Luke Armstrong goal gave Harrogate the lead, only for Kieron Morris to grab one back just four minutes later, meaning the points were shared.

Tranmere host Northampton Town on Saturday 23 October at 3pm in their next League 2 fixture.

These fans express their opinion on today’s game…

Harrogate Town – Formation 4-4-2
1 Mark Oxley GK
2 Ryan Fallowfield DF
3 Lewis Page DF
5 Will Smith DF
6 Warren Burrell DF
4 Josh Falkingham (C) MF
7 George Thomson MF
16 Alex Pattison MF
21 Jack Diamond MF
18 Jack Muldoon FW
29 Luke Armstrong FW

13 Joe Cracknell SUB
14 Nathan Sheron SUB
17 Lloyd Kerry SUB
30 Simon Power SUB
10 Aaron Martin SUB
11 Danilo Orsi-Dadomo SUB

Simon Weaver

Declan Bourne

Tranmere Rovers – Formation 4-5-1
25 Ross Doohan GK
2 Josh Dacres-Cogley DF
3 Calum MacDonald DF
5 Tom Davies DF
26 Peter Clarke (C) DF
17 Sam Foley MF
14 Callum McManaman MF
7 Kieron Morris MF
8 Jay Spearing MF
15 Josh Hawkes MF
20 Elliott Nevitt FW

13 Joe Murphy SUB
4 Nathaniel Knight-Percival SUB
22 Lee O’Connor SUB
21 Mark Duffy SUB
11 Liam Feeney SUB
10 Ryan Watson SUB
18 Nicky Maynard SUB

Micky Mellon

Attendance: 2573

Tap or click the button to like us on Facebook

Tap or click the button to follow us on Twitter
Have you got a Wirral story? Email

Latest news