Tranmere beaten at home by Newport

Tranmere hosted Newport County this afternoon at Prenton Park for a 3pm kick-off, in their fourth fixture of the 2021/22 League 2 season.

Before the match, Rovers will have been looking to improve on their record so far this season, with draws against Swindon last Tuesday and against Port Vale last Saturday and a win against Walsall in their first game of the season.

Pre-match at Prenton Park 21 August 2021

Tranmere Rovers 0 – Newport County 1

Sadly, it wasn’t to be and Tranmere suffered their first defeat of the season at home to Newport County,

Newport made the first attempt at goal when Cameron Norman piled the ball into Tranmere’s side netting.

Tranmere’s first attempt came a few minutes later, when Paul Glatzel fired a shot at the Exile’s goal, only to be denied by the Welsh side’s keeper, Joe Day.

Newport very nearly handed a goal to Tranmere, through an error by Priestly Farquharson who managed to lob his own goalkeeper. His embarrassment was saved by the quick-thinking Newport goalie.

In a counter-attack by Tranmere, Liam Feeney ran the ball half the length of the pitch, but his cross into the box was put just wide by Glatzel.

At 60 minutes, Tranmere conceded their first league goal of the season when a shot that rebounded off the crossbar was placed in the net by Alex Fisher.

Tranmere pushed for an equalizer during the final half-hour, but couldn’t claw back a much-needed goal.

Tranmere’s next outing is a visit to the Sands Venue Stadium for their meeting with Scunthorpe United in their next League 2 fixture on Saturday, 28 August for a 3pm kick-off.

These fans express their opinion on today’s game…

Tranmere Rovers – Formation 3-4-2-1
13 Joe Murphy GK
4 Nathaniel Knight-Percival DF
26 Peter Clarke (C) DF
5 Tom Davies DF
2 Josh Dacres-Cogley MF
7 Kieron Morris MF
8 Jay Spearing MF
17 Sam Foley MF
20 Elliott Nevitt FW
11 Liam Feeney FW
16 Paul Glatzel FW

25 Ross Doohan SUB
24 Kyle Hayde SUB
23 Joseph Maguire SUB
14 Callum McManaman SUB
6 Chris Merrie SUB
10 Ryan Watson SUB
9 Emmanuel Dieseruvwe SUB

Micky Mellon

Robert Lewis

Newport County – Formation 4-2-3-1
1 Joe Day GK
2 Cameron Norman DF
3 Ryan Haynes DF
5 James Clarke DF
6 Priestley Farquharson DF
17 Scot Bennett (C) MF
7 Robbie Willmott MF
4 Ed Upson 26‎’‎ MF
18 Finn Azaz MF
11 Jermaine Hylton MF
12 Alex Fisher FW

30 Nick Townsend SUB
14 Aaron Lewis SUB
22 Kevin Ellison SUB
27 Christopher Missilou SUB
16 Timmy Abraham SUB
21 Lewis Collins SUB
29 Jordan Greenidge SUB

Wayne Hatswell

Attendance: 6160

Tap or click the button to like us on Facebook

Tap or click the button to follow us on Twitter
Have you got a Wirral story? Email

Latest news