Team Flaybrick proudly show off their Green Flag Award

“Team Flaybrick” has been working hard over many years on the upkeep of the Flaybrick Memorial Gardens. Their efforts have been officially recognised and the team has been honoured with a Green Flag Award.

The Green Flag Award scheme recognises and rewards well managed parks and green spaces and Team Flaybrick has endeavoured to keep it a tidy, well maintained, safe and enjoyable place to visit.


Jayne Phennah, who volunteers for Team Flaybrick said, “Hooray! It’s been 5 years since we began to make our way through the jungle that was once Flaybrick. But today, we were awarded the Green Flag. I want to say a huge well done to every single person old and new who volunteered their time to help …”

“I have met some amazing people whilst at Flaybrick. I am so happy for the whole team, and look forward to the future of Flaybrick.”

If you would like to become a part of Team Flaybrick you can volunteer simply by turning up on Thursday or Saturday morning at 10am with some wellies & gardening gloves or get in touch with them via Twitter.

The cemetery was officially opened 30 May 1864 and named Birkenhead Cemetery. In 1990, it was designated as a conservation area by Wirral Borough Council and in 1995, Flaybrick Cemetery was renamed Flaybrick Memorial Gardens. It contains the war graves of 219 Commonwealth service personnel of both World War I and World War II.

Some of the notable interments include:

  • James Taylor Cochran, who built the Resurgam, an early Victorian era submarine, a replica of which can be seen at Woodside.
  • Sir William Jackson, who played a major part in the development of Birkenhead. He was chairman of Birkenhead Improvement commissioners from 1842 to 1846 and invited Joseph Paxton to design Birkenhead Park.
  • Mary Ann Mercer, who in 1924, was elected as Mayor of Birkenhead, the first woman to hold the post, and also the first Labour Party member to hold the post.
  • Isaac Roberts, was awarded the Gold Medal of the Royal Astronomical Society in 1895 for his work in the field of astrophotography.
Read more articles below ...
Ambitious plans agreed for Wirral landmark

A Wirral landmark is a step closer to being restored to its former glory and transformed into a specialist maritime Read more

Boat owners to claim their boats from Meols Parade

Owners of boats and other items at Meols Parade are being encouraged to come forward and claim them as the Read more

New and improved Tower Road reopens

This morning at 7am, Tower Road, linking Birkenhead and Wallasey reopened to pedestrians, cyclists, and drivers as the £3.2million scheme Read more

£165k waste prevention fund for Liverpool City Region community groups

A share of £165,000 is up for grabs to help community groups make the Liverpool City Region a cleaner and Read more