Steve Morgan pledges £170k to charities in awards prize money

Charities from Cheshire, Merseyside and North Wales are being urged to enter a competition to win a share of prize money totalling £170,000.

Philanthropist Steve Morgan CBE has pledged the money to mark the 20th anniversary of the Steve Morgan Foundation, which he launched in 2001.

The Steve Morgan Foundation has provided funds to many Wirral-based causes over the years, including recently, The Lighthouse Centre at Rock Ferry, The Paul Lavelle Foundation and Cradle to Career, both at Birkenhead, and the new Maggie’s Cancer Support Centre at Clatterbridge.

The winners will be announced at the Foundation’s 20th Anniversary Conference and Awards at Carden Park Hotel on March 28, 2022.  The conference will include workshops, presentations and networking opportunities.

In 2020/21 the Foundation distributed a record £25.8m to charities struggling with the pandemic, helping more than 2.2m people in the process.

Mr Morgan said, “Charities have never had it so hard and I want to mark the Foundation’s 20th anniversary by recognising the work of our amazing charities and not-for-profit organisations that have led the way in supporting the most vulnerable people in our communities.

“The Steve Morgan Foundation has been changing lives for 20 years and will continue to change lives for many more years to come.

“Our annual conference is an important date in the calendar and we’re really looking forward to meeting our wonderful charities again after we had to cancel last year’s event because of Covid.”

The four themes of the conference will be tackling mental health post-pandemic; diversifying funding options; building community cohesion; and positive engagement for children and young people.

There are a total of 10 awards up for grabs as well as a number of discretionary awards that will be revealed on the day.

Applications can be made online throughout October and are open to charities and not-for-profit organisations in Cheshire, Merseyside and North Wales.

The 10 categories, together with the full criteria, are available online.  Charities can enter a maximum of three categories including the Volunteer of the Year. Cash prizes will be given to the winners and runners-up.

Steve Morgan said, “We’re determined that the 20th Anniversary Conference and Awards will be the biggest and best one yet so I’d encourage charities and not-for-profit organisations to submit their applications from October 1.

Applications can be made online throughout the month of October. For more details go to  or check the Steve Morgan Foundation website.

Image: 2019 Steve Morgan Foundation Awards

Tap or click the button to like us on Facebook

Tap or click the button to follow us on Twitter
Have you got a Wirral story? Email

Latest news