Polls open across Wirral for ‘Super Thursday’ elections

Wirral Residents are heading to the polls for the biggest set of votes since the 2019 general election.

Polling stations opened at 7am this morning and will close at 10pm this evening. Today has been called ‘Super Thursday’ due to voting taking place for local councillors, the Liverpool City Region Mayor and the Police and Crime Commissioner.

In March 2020 the government announced that the elections scheduled for 7 May 2020 would be delayed for a year due to the COVID-19 pandemic. They are being held at the same time as the elections previously scheduled for 2021.

Wirral Council has 66 Councillors in 22 electoral wards. Each ward is represented by three Councillors. One Councillor in each ward stands for election in three out of every four years. Each Councillor is elected for a term of four years.

Polling stations are observing strict Covid-safe procedures, including the frequent cleaning of booths and social distancing. As usual, voters can bring their own pencils for completing ballots in order to reduce the risk of transfer of the COVID-19 virus.

Voters who registered to do so can also return their ballots by post, or have a nominated person vote on their behalf (proxy voting). Voters who did not post their votes in time can still vote in person at their polling station.

Those who have to self-isolate because of COVID-19 have until 5pm this afternoon to apply for an emergency proxy vote.

The votes for the local elections will be counted on the afternoon of Friday 7 May. The results will be published on this website.

  • Polling stations are open from 7am to 10pm today.
  • You don’t need your poll card to vote.
  • You must vote at your assigned polling station.
  • If you are registered to vote, but you don’t have your poll card, you can go to the polling station and give them your name and address.
  • You don’t need any form of ID. 
  • If you registered for a postal vote, but haven’t posted it, you can take it to your local polling station
COVID-19 safe procedures are in place in all polling stations.

Following is a full list of Wirral candidates. Where a candidate’s name is in italics, it denotes that that person is the sitting councillor.


Liberal DemocratsVicky Downie
ConservativeGeoff Jones
LabourChristina Muspratt
GreenJason Walsh

Bidston and St James

GreenDiane Johnson
ConservativeTina McDonnell
LabourJulie McManus
Liberal DemocratsMike Parsons

Birkenhead and Tranmere

ConservativeJune Cowin
GreenEmily Gleaves
LabourSusan Mahone
Liberal DemocratsEdward Smith


LabourJo Bird
ConservativeAnthony Drury
GreenSheena Hatton
Liberal DemocratsChase Newton


LabourChristopher Davies
GreenJim McGinley
ConservativeCherry Povall
Liberal DemocratsDaniel Rogers


For BritainGary Bergin
LabourGeorge Davies
ConservativeRania Elzeiny
GreenLiz Heydon
Liberal DemocratsChris Teggin


ConservativePaul Connolly
Liberal DemocratsPhillip Gilchrist
GreenPercy Hogg
LabourShab Syed

Greasby, Frankby and Irby

ConservativeTom Anderson
LabourGail Jenkinson
GreenCathy Page
Liberal DemocratsMike Redfern


GreenBarbara Burton
Reform UKKen Ferguson
ConservativeKathy Hodson
LabourGiuseppe Roberto
Liberal DemocratsRobert Thompson

Hoylake and Meols

GreenAlix Cockcroft
ConservativeAndrew Gardner
LabourMatt Houghton
Liberal DemocratsPeter Reisdorf

Leasowe and Moreton East

ConservativeDebbie Caplin
LabourHelen Collinson
GreenMichael Dixon
Liberal DemocratsJohn Mullins


Liberal DemocratsSue Arrowsmith
LabourDavid Brennan
ConservativeJane Owens
Reform UKDave Sharp
GreenPerle Sheldricks

Moreton West and Saughall Massie

ConservativeMax Booth
GreenHelen O’Donnell
Liberal DemocratsDavid Tyrrell
Reform UKPaul Whelligan
LabourNicole Williams

New Brighton (Two councillors to be elected)

GreenMoira Gommon
LabourTony Jones
Liberal DemocratsAdam Keenan
LabourPaul Martin
ConservativeDarren May
ConservativeTony Pritchard
Liberal DemocratsCharlie Smethurst
GreenCynthia Stonall


GreenJudith Grier
Reform UKPhilip Griffiths
LabourPaul Jobson
Liberal DemocratsStuart Kelly
ConservativePhil Merry

Pensby and Thingwall

GreenAllen Burton
ConservativeIvan Camphor
Liberal DemocratsPhil Waterfield
LabourTim Watson


LabourAngie Davies
GreenHarry Gorman
Liberal DemocratsLucy Johnson
ConservativeHilary Jones

Rock Ferry

IndependentStephen Davies
ConservativeNick Hanna
GreenCraig McDonald
LabourClare O’Hagan
Liberal DemocratsTom Sutton


GreenHilary Cullen
Liberal DemocratsAnthony Morris
LabourPaul Stuart
ConservativeVida Wilson


Liberal DemocratsAlan Davies
GreenLily Clough
LabourJean Robinson
ConservativeEmma Sellman


Liberal DemocratsJohn Codling
GreenRachel Heydon
ConservativeIan Lewis
LabourTom Usher

West Kirby and Thurstaston

GreenYvonne McGinley
ConservativeSimon Mountney
Liberal DemocratsOrod Osanlou
LabourLouise Reecejones

Have you got a Wirral story? Email news@birkenhead.news

Like the birkenhead.news Facebook page and follow @BirkenheadNews on Twitter

You can post Facebook comments on this news article below

Facebook Comments