MSC Express West Cheshire Football League round-up, 20 May 2023

As the curtain came down on another eventful MSC Express West Cheshire League season, long time Division Two leaders, Poulton Vics, were finally overtaken in the last week by Helsby, who were crowned champions following a 3-0 result at the Helsby Community Sports Club.

A smart double from Lee Turkington was supplemented by a Tom Waring effort as consistent performers, Helsby, earned promotion to the top flight where they will be joined by Ashville Res as sadly, Poulton Vics have now resigned from the League.

A solitary strike from Joe Dulson sufficed as Ashville Res. concluded their campaign with victory over Runcorn Sports in midweek, but Sports bounced back in style on Saturday and celebrated a 9-1 rout of West Kirby, highlighted by hat-tricks from Tom McDonald and Kier Fenlon. Further goals from Reece Dyer, Steve Woodward and Luke Cawley completed the statistics. West Kirby’s marksman was Alex Pugh.

Division Three’s final fixtures saw honours shared after 90 minutes failed to produce a goal between Rainhill Town Res. and Neston Nomads while Runcorn Sports Res. prevented South Liverpool 3rds from finishing runners-up after goals from Mike Hindley (2), Matty Hayes, and Dom Bazely secured a 4-2 result. South’s consolations were scored by Jack Boden and Joe Collins.


Division One champions, Mersey Royal. Runners-up Mossley Hill Ath.
Division Two champions, Helsby, Runners-up Poulton Vics.
Division Three champions Aintree Villa Res. Runners-up Higher Bebington Kelma.
Youth Division champions , Mossley Hill Ath. Runners-up Poulton Vics.
FA Northern Counties Trophy winners, Cheshire County FA(Represented by Mersey Royal)
Cheshire CCFA Amateur Cup winners, Mersey Royal.
Wirral DFA Senior Cup winners, Capenhurst Villa. Finalists Mersey Royal
Wirral DFA Amateur Cup winners, Ashville Res. Finalists Hooton.
Wirral DFA Junior Cup winners, Poulton Vics Youth.
LCFA Saturday Youth to be played 3 rd June 2023
Pyke Cup winners,  Mossley Hill Ath. Finalists Mersey Royal.
Haworth & Gallagher Bowl winners, Mallaby. Finalists Ashville Res.
West Cheshire Shield winners Hooton. Finalists Higher Bebington Kelma.

The AGM is scheduled for Wednesday, 21 June, 7.30pm at Vauxhall Sports & Social Club. All clubs must be in attendance as per rule.

Image: Helsby, Division 2 Champions

First Division

1Mersey Royal2823145870
2Mossley Hill Athletic2821525268
4FC Bootle St Edmund’s2817564256
5Vauxhall Motors Res2817291753
7Marine U23s28125111041
9Aintree Villa289514-1032
10Rainhill Town288614-2030
11Litherland Remyca Res289316-2230
12Chester Nomads289217-4029
13Capenhurst Villa288218-1926
15Ellesmere Port Town284123-7213

Second Division

2Poulton Victoria2821344366
3Ashville Res2821253965
4South Liverpool Res2817381354
5Runcorn Sports28171102952
6Maghull Res2816392251
7Sutton Athletic2814113543
8Bootle Res28130151239
10Poulton Royal289316-2530
11Mossley Hill Athletic Res288218-2426
12West Kirby286418-4022
13Cheshire Lines285617-3421
14South Sefton Borough284618-4718
15Marshalls Res285221-3317

Third Division

1Aintree Villa Res2822246468
2Higher Bebington Kelma2819455261
3South Liverpool Third2818554359
5Capenhurst Villa Res2815672151
6Runcorn Sports Res2814410-1946
7Neston Nomads281099-239
8Poulton Victoria Res289712634
9Chester Nomads Res289712-634
10Helsby Res289514-2532
11Rainhill Town Res288416-2628
12West Kirby Res288317-1927
13Groves Athletic287219-3623
14Ellesmere Port Town Res286319-5521
15Heswall Res282917-3515

Youth Division

1Mossley Hill Athletic1813323942
2Poulton Victoria1810171431
3South Liverpool189451231
4Vauxhall Motors189361430
5Victoria Colts U1817917528
7Ormskirk West End18828-426
8City of Liverpool18567-621
9Runcorn Linnets185112-2716

Why not follow on Facebook and Twitter? You can also send story ideas to

Share this

Subscribe to our FREE newsletter

Facebook comments

Latest news