Local Elections 2021: When will we know the results?

The local elections for 2021 taking place today, Thursday 6 May.

In Wirral this includes elections to Wirral Council, the Merseyside Police and Crime Commissioner (PCC) and mayor for the Liverpool City Region combined authority, also known as the “metro” mayor.

Unlike local elections in previous years the counting will not take place over night. After polls close at 10pm ballot boxes will be transferred to the Count Centre at Wirral Tennis and Leisure Centre, Valley Road, Birkenhead, where they will remain sealed and be kept guarded through the night.

From around 7am on Friday, May 7, election officials will begin the process of verifying the votes – this process ensures the votes tally and must be done before counting can take place.

It is expected that counting of votes for the council elections will not start before 1.30pm on Friday May 7 at the earliest, and will be published on the counil website and social media channels.

Counting for the PCC and metro mayor will take place on Saturday , May 8 and the result will be published on the birkenhead.news website as soon as they are made available.

Due to COVID-19 restrictions there will be fewer people at the count – including a smaller number of people counting votes to allow for social distancing – and as a result there may be a longer wait than previous years before results are able to be announced.

All results will be available on the birkenhead.news website and on the Wirral Council website https://www.wirral.gov.uk/elections-and-voting/elections

Following is a full list of Wirral candidates. Where a candidate’s name is in italics, it denotes that that person is the sitting councillor.


Liberal DemocratsVicky Downie
ConservativeGeoff Jones
LabourChristina Muspratt
GreenJason Walsh

Bidston and St James

GreenDiane Johnson
ConservativeTina McDonnell
LabourJulie McManus
Liberal DemocratsMike Parsons

Birkenhead and Tranmere

ConservativeJune Cowin
GreenEmily Gleaves
LabourSusan Mahone
Liberal DemocratsEdward Smith


LabourJo Bird
ConservativeAnthony Drury
GreenSheena Hatton
Liberal DemocratsChase Newton


LabourChristopher Davies
GreenJim McGinley
ConservativeCherry Povall
Liberal DemocratsDaniel Rogers


For BritainGary Bergin
LabourGeorge Davies
ConservativeRania Elzeiny
GreenLiz Heydon
Liberal DemocratsChris Teggin


ConservativePaul Connolly
Liberal DemocratsPhillip Gilchrist
GreenPercy Hogg
LabourShab Syed

Greasby, Frankby and Irby

ConservativeTom Anderson
LabourGail Jenkinson
GreenCathy Page
Liberal DemocratsMike Redfern


GreenBarbara Burton
Reform UKKen Ferguson
ConservativeKathy Hodson
LabourGiuseppe Roberto
Liberal DemocratsRobert Thompson

Hoylake and Meols

GreenAlix Cockcroft
ConservativeAndrew Gardner
LabourMatt Houghton
Liberal DemocratsPeter Reisdorf

Leasowe and Moreton East

ConservativeDebbie Caplin
LabourHelen Collinson
GreenMichael Dixon
Liberal DemocratsJohn Mullins


Liberal DemocratsSue Arrowsmith
LabourDavid Brennan
ConservativeJane Owens
Reform UKDave Sharp
GreenPerle Sheldricks

Moreton West and Saughall Massie

ConservativeMax Booth
GreenHelen O’Donnell
Liberal DemocratsDavid Tyrrell
Reform UKPaul Whelligan
LabourNicole Williams

New Brighton (Two councillors to be elected)

GreenMoira Gommon
LabourTony Jones
Liberal DemocratsAdam Keenan
LabourPaul Martin
ConservativeDarren May
ConservativeTony Pritchard
Liberal DemocratsCharlie Smethurst
GreenCynthia Stonall


GreenJudith Grier
Reform UKPhilip Griffiths
LabourPaul Jobson
Liberal DemocratsStuart Kelly
ConservativePhil Merry

Pensby and Thingwall

GreenAllen Burton
ConservativeIvan Camphor
Liberal DemocratsPhil Waterfield
LabourTim Watson


LabourAngie Davies
GreenHarry Gorman
Liberal DemocratsLucy Johnson
ConservativeHilary Jones

Rock Ferry

IndependentStephen Davies
ConservativeNick Hanna
GreenCraig McDonald
LabourClare O’Hagan
Liberal DemocratsTom Sutton


GreenHilary Cullen
Liberal DemocratsAnthony Morris
LabourPaul Stuart
ConservativeVida Wilson


Liberal DemocratsAlan Davies
GreenLily Clough
LabourJean Robinson
ConservativeEmma Sellman


Liberal DemocratsJohn Codling
GreenRachel Heydon
ConservativeIan Lewis
LabourTom Usher

West Kirby and Thurstaston

GreenYvonne McGinley
ConservativeSimon Mountney
Liberal DemocratsOrod Osanlou
LabourLouise Reecejones

There are four candidates standing for the post of Mayor of the Liverpool City region. They are listed below in alphabetical order by surname:

  • Gary Cargill  Green Party
  • Jade Marsden  Conservatives
  • David Newman  Liberal Democrats
  • Steve Rotheram  Labour

There are three candidates standing for the post of Police and Crime Commissioner for Merseyside. They are listed below in alphabetical order by surname:

  • Kris Brown  Liberal Democrats – Councillor for Woolton, Liverpool City Council
  • Emily Spurrell  Labour – Councillor for Mossley Hill, Liverpool City Council
  • Bob Teesdale  Conservative – Association Secretary for Southport Conservatives

Have you got a Wirral story? Email news@birkenhead.news

Like the birkenhead.news Facebook page and follow @BirkenheadNews on Twitter

You can post Facebook comments on this news article below

Facebook Comments