LJMU honours Bicentenary fellows

LJMU is to celebrate 10 new honorary fellows in its Bicentenary year at a special event at St George’s Hall this autumn. 

The new fellows are being recognised in LJMU’s 200th year for their inspirational achievements and role model status in the wider community. 

They come from a diverse range of backgrounds and industries, including professional sport, the arts and media, the public sector, engineering, tourism and the judiciary. The fellows are: 

  • Nikita Parris, professional footballer, UEFA Euro 2022 winner and LJMU alum  
  • Ngunan Adamu, BBC Radio Merseyside journalist, producer, presenter and LJMU alum  
  • Bryan Biggs, Director of Cultural Legacies at the Bluecoat and LJMU alum 
  • Andy Cooke, HM Chief Inspector of Constabulary and HM Chief Inspector of Fire and Rescue Services 
  • Professor Joe Rafferty CBE, Chief Executive of Merseycare 
  • Trish Bennett, Deputy Chief Executive and Chief Nurse, Merseycare  
  • Louise Shepherd, Chief Executive of Alder Hey Children’s NHSFT 
  • Louisa Flitter, Civil Engineering Senior Project Manager, Environment Agency and LJMU alum 
  • HH Judge Sarah Wright, Circuit Judge, Sheffield Combined Court and LJMU alum 
  • Jamie Christon DL, Chief Executive of Chester Zoo 

They will be honoured at the ceremony on Wednesday 8 November.  

The event, which will be hosted by LJMU Chancellor Nisha Katona and Vice-Chancellor, Professor Mark Power is open to LJMU staff and students, fellows and their guests. The fellows will receive their awards from students in their respective academic areas. There will also be some special performances to mark the occasion. 

Professor Power said, “This is an historic year for LJMU as we celebrate our Bicentenary and I’m delighted to announce our 10 new honorary fellows who will be recognised at a special event in the autumn. 

“These fellows have been nominated and selected because of their outstanding achievements in their respective fields and their contributions to improving lives across the Liverpool City Region and beyond. Each of these 10 remarkable people shares LJMU’s firm commitment to making a positive difference to our communities and to wider society. 

“The new fellows already support what we do at LJMU in different ways and I’m thrilled that they are all strengthening their ties to the university by becoming honorary fellows. I look forward to honouring them at what promises to be a memorable occasion in the magnificent surroundings of St George’s Hall and working closely with them in the future.” 

The announcement of LJMU’s 10 new honorary fellows is part of the university’s Bicentenary celebrations of the history and the people who make it the institution it is today. You can find out more about LJMU’s Bicentenary here  

The 10 new individuals are added to more than 300 members of the LJMU community who have been awarded an honorary fellowship from the university. The Mayor of the Liverpool City Region, Steve Rotheram, was also given the first Alumni Ambassador Fellowship earlier this year. You can find out more about LJMU’s honorary fellows here

Why not follow birkenhead.news on Facebook, Twitter, and Threads? You can also send story ideas or letters to the editor to news@birkenhead.news