Houlihan’s Birkenhead Sunday Association Football League round-up, 6 November 2022

The Quarter Finals of the Wirral District Football Association Sunday Premier Cup dominated the fixtures for clubs of The Houlihan’s Birkenhead Sunday Association Football League with all four being contested from clubs in the Premier Division.

Fourteen-times winners, Queens Park, sealed a place in the semi-finals with a 3-1 win at hosts KRCT Bidston FC (John Mearns). Finding the net for Queens Park were Callum Maddox, Jamie Layland, and Anthony Gardner.

Dock AFC, who have lifted the trophy on six previous occasions, also assured their passage into the draw for the last four after sinking Great Float S&S 3-0, thanks to Greg Drummond, Jamie Eaton, and Jack Kelly.

After a high-scoring league game last week Rock Ferry Social and Lancelyn Glenavon obliged yet again in a seven-goal thriller with Rock Ferry Social taking the honours with a narrow 4-3 win after Adam ‘Sabu’ Smith notched up a brace, with singles from Toby Ward and Joe Emery. Replying Lancelyn were Connor Courtnell, Danny Dixon, and Tom Wingfield.

The final place in the hat went to Beechwood FC who cemented their place with a comfortable 5-0 at the expense of The Lukes. Rob Cull led the way with a double, Morgan Woods, Corey Scarisbrick, and Fenton Cavanagh also contributed with a goal each.

A Matty Vickers hat-trick and a further strike from Brad Bland for Whitby Rangers secured their place in the semi-finals of The Wirral District Football Association Sunday Amateur Cup at Wallasey side Liscard Panthers 4-2.

Despite a brace from Adam Larway for JPL Jets, they were shot down by Vineyard FC.

Barcode FC eased their way into round three of The David Keith Tacy Memorial Cup with a resounding 7-0 result at AFC Raeburn. Finding the back of the net for Barcode were Danny France, Neil Davies, Paul Johnston (2), Andy McIver, Harry Firkins, and Alex Norton.

Also making progress were Higher Bebington Kelma who saw off the challenge from Glenavon Athletic 7-3. Amongst the goals for Kelma were Adam Clarke with a treble, Aaron O’Hare, Tom Weaver , and Lewis Simpson. Among the response from Glenavon Athletic were Kieran France and Craig Evans.

Eastham Rangers booked their place in round three with strikes from Tyler Harris, Martin Marshall, and Warren Jones to win their tie 3-0 at Parkgate Panthers.

It was definitely not a happy birthday for AFC Shaftes stalwart Geoff Griffiths who has over 40 years service with the club. A giant-killing act took place at Leverhulme playing fields by AFC Rangers (Lewis McNight) of Division Three to defeat Division One side AFC Shaftes (Luke Rollings) 4-3 on penalties after both sides were locked at 1-1 after normal regulatory time.

Another penalty shootout also was the dividing margin between Lions FC and Poulton Victoria S&S after a keenly contested 3-3 draw. Mark Head hit a hat-trick for hosts Lions FC, while Dan Price, Jay Little, and Danny Kendall replied for the Vics.

The Frank Robinson Presidents Cup action saw Rig Move claim their place in the last eight after the two teams finished 1-1 at 90 minutes. Rig Move won the cuptie over Bushell Athletic on penalties.

Just one game in the Premier Division for the Ryan ‘Gigsy Atherton Trophy saw a tremendous game with the honours shared between Woodchurch Hotel FC and Corsair PV FC. The game finished 3-3 and on the scoresheet for Woodchurch Hotel were Ben Holmes with a double and Josh Dures effort. Corsair goals came from Jordan Dilworth and a pair via Kieran Cartwright.

Lewis Gouldson led the way for Cheshire Cheese in an eoght goal romp over MSC Eastham to take pole position in The Maxwell Barbers Division One. Nick Lynch, Lorcan Rogan, Sam Hughes, Adam Ledgerton, and Bill Magee completed the scoring.

Upton Town (Tom ward, Og) remain unbeaten with their league form to share the points with Eastham Rangers Colts (Dillon Thomas, Andy Rogers). Upton are in a mid-table position with games in hand and are set to climb the table, aiming with many others to achieve promotion to the Premier Division.

Wirral Radio had all the firepower to take the points at Woodchurch Rovers (Ryan Thompson) 3-1 thanks to Suphot Thiamdong and Ash McCoy (2).

Saughall FC moved within a point of the top of Division Two with a resounding 5-1 success at AFC Park North, with Owen Kelsey (3), Owen Wharton, and Chris Hannon doing the damage.

Wirral Athletic (Joe Roberts, Declan Pearce, Jack Ives, Jamie Galloway) registered a fine win against Athletic VH 4-1 in Division Three.

North Wirral Saints (Many Mithi-Nelson, Dylan Pearce, OG) posted a 3-3 draw with Parkgate St Germain (Ollie Hand, Ben Pearson (2). It was a similar game between second-placed West Kirby United (Matty Murphy) and third-placed Oval FC (Jack Hill) sharing the spoils 1-1.

The Houlihan’s Birkenhead Sunday Association Football League are now accepting applications for a proposed Youth Division for the season 2023/24 that is scheduled to start in August 2024, any Youth clubs that wish to enter two teams can do so, one team will be known as Youth U/18’s and a second team is normally known as a Colts U/17’s, please visit the League website for contact details

Image: Oval FC v AFC Raeburn. Credit: Bob Shaw

Premier Division

1Beechwood SC1073023101324
2Dock AFC970223131021
3Rock Ferry Social741221111013
4Great Float S&S83412116513
5Queens Park640223111212
6Neston Nomads83321412212
7Woodchurch Hotel53201914511
8Lancelyn Glenavon112362744-179
9KRCT Bidston FC92071225-136
10The Lukes FC91081129-183
11Corsair PV80261221-92

Division One

1Cheshire Cheese851225101516
2JPL Jets65012872115
3Wellington FC74212112914
4Bushell Athletic7421145914
5Wirral Radio FC74031614212
6Eastham Rangers Colts73311513212
7Upton Town53201541111
8Rig Move FC6213131307
9MSC Eastham112181142-317
10AFC Shaftes9036927-183
11Woodchurch Rovers7016727-201

Division Two

1Prenton FC96214654120
3Sheridans FC76103572819
4Whitby Rangers65102732416
5Barkers Armchair FC84041127-1612
6Barcode FC83231012-211
7Lions FC531186210
8Eagle & Stirrup FC63039639
9Victoria Colts102261533-188
10Glenavon Athletic8107837-293
11AFC Park North10109853-453
12Poulton Vics S&S7025825-172

Division Three

1Old Parks FC862028121620
2West Kirby United1055026141220
3Oval FC95222012817
4AFC Tima115153132-116
5AFC Rangers84311914515
6Eastham Rangers84311612415
7Athletic VH103341816212
8Parkgate Panthers83232315811
9H Bebington Kelma93242321211
10Parkgate St Germain62131217-57
11Wirral Athletic102172144-237
12North Wirral Saints81251621-55
13AFC Raeburn90181235-231

Why not follow birkenhead.news on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter? You can also send story ideas to news@birkenhead.news

Share this

Subscribe to our FREE newsletter

Facebook comments

Latest news