Houlihan’s Birkenhead Sunday Association Football League round-up, 3 April 2022

A Jack Grotty double for Beechwood FC firmed up a place in the semi-final of the Tony Houlihan Memorial Challenge Cup after sinking Dock AFC 2-1.

Beechwood FC will meet Woodchurch Hotel FC next Sunday. Woodchurch Hotel disposed of MSC Eastham (Aaron Brabander, Jordan Coates) 6-2, Jordan Deer led the way after bagging 4 with further efforts from Jake Prescott and Josh Dures.

Rock Ferry Social had Carl Robbo with a brace, and singles from Josh Griff, Adam (Sabu) Smith, Charlie Maccinnes, Kyle Jones & Tom Morgan, They now march on for that first-ever Premier Division title, with a 7-0 win over FC Bidston.

Corsair FC cemented their place in The Premier Division for next season after Lewis Clarke bagged a pair at Lancelyn Glenavon (Danny Stephens’s) 2-1. RIvacre‘s impressive debut season continued after easing to a 3-0 win over Queens Park FC 3-0.

Ben Glover 2, Liam Atherton and Farris Baker found themselves on the scoresheet to enhance their chances to a return to the Premier Division for Bushell Grange Athletic with a comfortable 4-0 result at Neston United.

Upton Town (Scott Billington, Brendan Doherty) won by the odd goal in three at AFC Shaftes (Ryan Griffiths) as did Wirral Radio FC who had Aaron Buckley and Adam Chwalko on the mark at Woodchurch Rovers who replied via Jamie Farrell. Poulton Victoria FC (Adam Eaton) traded goals and points with Lions FC (Paul Ryan) 1-1.

It is getting very interesting at the top of Division Two. JPL Jets inflicted a second league defeat on KRCT FC thanks to Cy Sullivan and Sam Jones with a scoreline of 2-1.

New Ferry Rangers (Adam Larway 2) could not take full advantage to increase their lead in pole position as they dropped two points at Saughall FC (Ben Noble Danny Chamney.)

Wellington FC did take advantage recording a 3-1 success over Barcode FC thanks to Lewis Willingham, Phil Humphreys and Joe Kelly.

There were goals galore between Victoria Colts and Silva Athletic with a very narrow win Colts 6-5. Scorers for Victoria Colts were Ryan Coles with a brace a single from Gaz Dickinson and a fine hatrick from Billy Harrison. Finding the net for Silva Athletic were Martin Whalley, Samuel Davies, Luke Roberts, Jordan Edge and Tyler Edward.

Eagle Stirrup FC (Carl Griffith, Jason Farrell, Jack Nelson) claimed valuable points with a 3-1 victory against Glenavon Athletic (Nathan Patrick.)

AFC Rangers (David Dutfield, Chris Caress) dented AFC Tima‘s chances of promotion with the honours being shared in a 2-2 draw.

The points were also shared in a stalemate between Old Parks FC and North Wirral Saints. Oval FC kept the pressure on the leaders in Division Three and have an outside chance of promotion registering a 3-1 result over Wirral Athletic.

West Kirby United (Robert Nairn, Eddie Dancey 2, Ben Banks accounted for Parkgate St Germain (Rory Spears) 4-1.

The Houlihan’s Birkenhead Sunday Association Football League are now accepting applications for the new season that is scheduled to start in August 2022 in both Open Age and Youth. Any Youth clubs that wish to enter two teams can do so, one team will be known Youth U/18’s and a second-team is normally known as a Colts U/17’s. Please visit the League website for contact details.

Premier Division
Lancelyn Glenavon 12 Corsair FC
Rivacre FC 30 Queens Park FC
Rock Ferry Social 70 FC Bidston
Division One
AFC Shaftes 12 Upton Town
Neston United 04 Bushell Grange Athletic
Poulton Vics S&S 11 Lions FC
Woodchurch Rovers 12 Wirral Radio FC
Division Two
Eagle Stirrup FC 31 Glenavon Athletic
Saughall FC 22 New Ferry Rangers
Victoria Colts 65 Silva Athletic
Wellington FC 30 Barcode FC
Division Three
AFC Rangers 22 AFC Tima
Old Parks FC 00 North Wirral Saints
Oval FC 31 Wirral Athletic
West Kirby United 41 Parkgate St Germain
Tony Houlihan Memorial Challenge Cup – Rnd 4
Beechwood FC 21 Dock AFC
MSC Eastham 26 Woodchurch Hotel FC

Premier Division Table

1ROCK FERRY SOCIAL13601510111146163034
2WOODCHURCH HOTEL FC1250132182233151826
3GREAT FLOAT S&S121126027142623322
4CORSAIR FC134123037152626022
5RIVACRE FC1150120370436201621
6BEECHWOOD FC142322324643528718
7DOCK AFC1021231152330161417
8QUEENS PARK FC142232144373134-315
9NESTON NOMADS153151144293145-1414
10FC BIDSTON1420501621112271-497
11LANCELYN GLENAVON1402411613101638-226

Division One Table

1THE LUKES FC13800401120138102836
2BUSHELL GRANGE ATHLETIC1441250291435201528
3BROMBOROUGH RAKE1040121261328161219
4UPTON TOWN132144026162725219
5NESTON UNITED143143036173339-619
6WIRRAL RADIO FC132034046072726118
7WOODCHURCH ROVERS111124125242421317
8AFC SHAFTES153042245282835-717
9POULTON VICS S&S142122074192337-1413
10LIONS FC1310801311111448-344

Division Two Table

1NEW FERRY RANGERS15711510122146113538
2KRCT FC14602600120278186036
3JPL JETS14520511103142202233
4WELLINGTON FC115104109204874129
5PRENTON FC1450230480647281924
6MSC EASTHAM163143056193537-219
7SAUGHALL FC134151025173734316
8VICTORIA COLTS122112154261734-1714
9EAGLE STIRRUP FC142132154282446-2214
10SILVA ATHLETIC1710521831132184-6310
11BARCODE FC1721502723121652-369
12GLENAVON ATHLETIC1511502613111858-406

Division Three Table

1AFC PARK NORTH15600801140146212542
2WHITBY RANGERS14600602120273225136
3AFC TIMA156212138343627927
4OVAL FC144023147162937-822
5OLD PARKS FC144221235452726119
6NORTH WIRRAL SAINTS1221324045333231017
7BARKERS ARMCHAIR FC123232025252724317
8PARKGATE ST GERMAIN153132155282935-617
9AFC RANGERS1832320852113358-2517
10WEST KIRBY UTD153052145194040016
11WIRRAL ATHLETIC141162223382452-2812
12AFC RAEBURN1401510711122355-324

Main image credit: RF._.studio

Why not follow birkenhead.news on Facebook and Twitter? You can also send story ideas to news@birkenhead.news

Share this

Sign up for our free newsletter using this form

Facebook comments

Latest news