Houlihan’s Birkenhead Sunday Association Football League round-up, 28 November

West Kirby United took the honours in an all Houlihan’s Birkenhead Sunday Association Football League clash in The Wirral District Football Association Sunday Junior Cup by defeating high flying AFC Tima (Ussumane Jalo, Tom Brassey, Mike Redgrift, Daniel Connolly) in a 9 goal thriller.

Scorers for West Kirby United were Finlay Austin, Ollie Felton 2 and Ethan Cartwright 2, they will be joined in the semi-final draw with Oval FC who disposed of Parkgate St Germain 4-0 thanks to John Skipsey, Patrick Bell, Mike Simpson and Joel McCann.

Rivacre FC were in fine form The Cheshire County Football Association Sunday Challenge Cup round 2 tie that has been held over. They sailed to a superb 4-1 win over Organ Athletic FC thanks to Jay Foster with a double and Jay Harvey along with Jake Hulley adding one each.

Great Float Sports and Social are the 9th Birkenhead side through to the last 16 after a dramatic last-minute winner from right-back Danni Kelly sinking Offerton Green 2-1. Carl Murphy claimed the other goal. The 3rd round ties are scheduled for 9 January 2022 and there is the possibility of having 7 teams into the quarter-finals as two clubs are guaranteed with local ties.

Domestic Cup action saw Neston United canter to a 6-0 success over Poulton Vic S&S with a brace each for Liam Peacock and Dean Jones aligned with singles from Ben Pearson and Mark Nokes in The David Tacy Cup. Also through to Round 3 are Whitby Rangers (Matty Vickers 3, Sam Cooper) who earned the decision over Wallasey Village FC.

Rock Ferry Social took their place in the quarter-finals of The Veronica Conway Premier Cup after taking a very early lead through Charlie Macinnes at Neston Nomads. Neston gave the ferrymen a hard-fought game and nearly equalised in the dying seconds to take the tie to a penalty shootout, but Rock Ferry held on to that 1-0 result and go into the hat.

The Lukes romped to an 8-0 win at Wirral Radio in The Presidents Cup with Philly Hayward leading the way with a hattrick, supplemented with singles from Luke Ainscough, Ben Crossley, Will Bulpin, Paul Dulson and Dava Lewis. They secured their place in the last 8.

Kyle Bennett bagged a 5 goal haul for Rockpoint in The Tony Smith Memorial Cup also on the scoresheet were Liam Whelan, Jamie Payne, Nick Scholes and Karl Smith over Glenavon Athletic, also into the hat for the next round is JPL Jets (Sam Jones 3, Joe Hamm 2, Sam Parker, Liam McCrellis and Callum Lavelle after inflicting an 8-0 defeat on Eagle Stirrup FC. New Ferry Rangers got back to winning ways with Luke Rollings, Tom Taffe and Lewis McKnight controlling their tie with Silva Athletic especially in the midfield department, Luke Rollings bagged a pair supported by further efforts from Tom Taffe, Harrison Hindley and Adam Larway , Prenton FC (Luke Wynne 2, Jake Smith) cemented a quarter-final spot notching a 3-0 home win over Barcodes FC.

Dock AFC (Adam Bagley, Kieran Hamm) warmed up for the FA National Cup Sunday Cup next week at Melling Victoria with a 2-2 draw at Beechwood FC (Morgan Woods, Mitchell Duggan) dropping vital points in their quest to retain The Premier Division Ryan (Gigsy) Atherton Trophy. Dock have now played the same amount of games as league leaders Rock Ferry Social and are two points behind. Corsair accounted for Lancelyn Glenavon 2-0 while only one game was lost due to adverse weather as a tree had fallen onto the pitch between FC Bidston and Woodchurch Hotel.

AFC Shaftes recorded a superb 3-1 win over Bromborough Rake (Kie Hughes) thanks to Jack Mountford, Ryan Griffiths and Eddie Jebb and claim third spot in Division One. Highly fancied Upton Town (Liam Sundve 2, Matty Beamon, Jamie Johns) who have a mixed season so far claimed maximum points at Lions FC (Ricky Harrison.)

Wellington FC have had their shooting boots on all season and for the 2nd week in a row found the net seven times and the third time this season. The unlucky opponents this week were MSC Eastham 7-1. Wellington have never failed to find the back of the net in any matches so far this season and on their scoresheet this week were Lewis Gouldson with a treble allied to Lewis Willingham, Zac Russell, Ben Travis and an OG they also maintained their unbeaten run and are only four points behind Division Two leaders Rockpoint and they are due to play each other next Sunday, in a mid-table clash. Victoria Colts (Gaz Dickenson, Billy Harrison, Gerard Walker pen) took full advantage of Saughall FC (Tom Ashcroft) to leapfrog them in the league table.

A solitary strike from Ben Morris for AFC Park North put them in pole position in Division Three at AFC Rangers. Wirral Athletic (Jake Ives) traded goals and points with Old Parks FC (Charlie Jones) 1-1, Barkers Armchair delivered a fine 5-1 scoreline against basement club AFC Raeburn (Robert Wardle,) Dom Swift with a double and singles from Louis Brown, Kieran Davies & Lee Grimsley completing the scoring.

The Houlihan’s Birkenhead Sunday Association Football League are now looking to bring back The Youth Division in August 2022 and are now accepting new applications for the season 2022/2023. This season’s under 16’s can join as Colts, last season’s under 16’s can come in as Youth especially if some clubs wish to enter two teams, please check the League’s website for contact details.

Cheshire Sunday Cup – Rnd 2
Rivacre FC 41 Organ Athletic FC
Great Float S&S 21 Offerton Green
Wirral Junior Cup – Rnd 3
AFC Tima 45 West Kirby Utd
North Wirral Saints 16 The Gummers FC
Oval FC 40 Parkgate St Germain
David Tacy Cup – Rnd 2
Neston Utd 60 Poulton Vics S&S
Whitby Rangers 41 Wallasey Village FC
Veronica Conway Cup – Rnd 1
Neston Nomads 01 Rock Ferry Social
President’s Cup – Rnd 1
Wirral Radio FC 08 The Lukes FC
Tony Smith Cup – Rnd 1
JPL Jets 80 Eagle Stirrup FC
New Ferry Rangers 51 Silva Athletic
Prenton FC 30 Barcode FC
Rockpoint FC 90 Glenavon Athletic
Premier Division
Beechwood FC 22 Dock AFC
Corsair FC 20 Lanclyn Glenavon
FC Bidston PP Woodchurch Hotel
Division One
AFC Shaftes 31 Bromborough Rake
Lions FC 14 Upton Town
Division Two
Wellington FC 71 MSC Eastham
Saughall FC 13 Victoria Colts
Division Three
AFC Park North 10 AFC Rangers
Barkers Armchair FC 51 AFC Raeburn
Wirral Athletic 11 Old Parks FC
Rock Ferry Social861124121219
Dock AFC852126101617
Woodchurch Hotel95222113817
Queens Park94232415914
Beechwood SC93422618813
Rivacre FC740322111112
Corsair FC84041414012
Great Float S&S83141519-410
Neston Nomads82151523-87
FC Bidston91171554-394
Lancelyn Glenavon7025821-132
The Lukes FC87012581721
Bushell Grange Athletic86022213918
AFC Shaftes95132318516
Bromborough Rake FC850322121015
Upton Town84041818012
Neston United73131722-510
Woodchurch Rovers72231516-18
Poulton Vics S&S62041114-36
Wirral Radio FC71061021-113
Lions FC81071031-213
JPL Jets862025101520
Wellington FC86203773020
New Ferry Rangers86112471719
MSC Eastham115062928115
Victoria Colts9315925-1610
Eagle & Stirrup FC5203817-96
Glenavon Athletic81161231-194
Barcode FC81161026-164
Silva Athletic7106434-303
Prenton FC5104617-113
AFC Park North980126141224
Whitby Rangers970252153721
Barkers Armchair FC105232114717
North Wirral Saints751126131316
AFC Tima851222121016
Oval FC95041928-915
Old Parks FC94141918113
AFC Rangers104151732-1513
Wirral Athletic92341932-139
West Kirby United82151922-37
Wallasey Village81251219-75
Parkgate St Germain5014313-101
AFC Raeburn90181336-231

Image credit: RF._.studio

Why not follow birkenhead.news on Facebook and Twitter? You can also send story ideas to news@birkenhead.news

Tap or click the button to like us on Facebook

Tap or click the button to follow us on Twitter
Have you got a Wirral story? Email news@birkenhead.news

Latest news