Houlihan’s Birkenhead Sunday Association Football League round-up, 25 September 2022

AFC Shaftes secured their passage into the second round of the Tony Houlihan Memorial Challenge Cup, shooting down JPL Jets on penalties after both teams were locked in a 2-2 draw after 90minutes.

Kevin Day and Adam Larway were on the mark for Jets, while Kyle Platt and Eddie Jebb netted for Shaftes.

Upton Town also eased their way through with a convincing 7-2 win at North Wirral Saints, thanks to Matty Crawford with a treble, and singles from Liam Healy, Leigh Carter, Jack Evans, and Tom Ward. Saints replied via Mike Manser and Sam Platt.

Wirral Radio called the tune in another penalty shoot-out 5-3 at Barkers Armchair in The David Keith Tacy Cup first round clash. Mike Searson for Armchair and Josh Ross for Radio boys after the scores were level 1-1 after normal regulatory time.

In an all Division Two clash, newcomers Sheridan’s saw off the challenge of Eagle Stirrup (James Lally) 3-1 with Leon Jones, Leon Bower, and Dylan Doyle netting for the Wallasey Village side.

Cheshire Cheese eased to a comfortble win at nine-man AFC Park North to secure their place in round two.

Game of the day was in the Premier Division of The Houlihan’s Birkenhead Sunday Association Football League, with Dock AFC losing their 100% record. Hosts Dock went 1-0 up midway through the first half through Danny Cross, but Woodchurch Hotel FC hit back 10 minutes later from Jake Prescott who hammered home to make it 1-1.

Jordan Deer put the Woody boys in front, and then Jonathan Roberts hit another breathtaking goal from the edge of the box. The best was yet to come from Michael Burkey who hit another pile driver into the roof of the net to secure all three points. It has certainly put a small dent into AFC Dock’s hopes of picking up another title,

It is definitely one of the best Premier Division seasons in the Ryan ‘Gigsy’ Atherton Trophy for many years. Hot on the heels of Dock are Beechwood FC who had Jack McGrotty on hand to earn all three points 1-0 at the The Lukes FC.

Honours were even between Corsair PV (Jason Bull) and Neston Nomads (Callum Blondel, Callum Hulmston) 2-2. With the demise of Bromborough Rake last week, Corsair lost their points from their only win a couple of weeks ago but have now registered a point.

Goals were plentiful between KRCT Bidston and Lancelyn Glenavon. Lancelyn claimed their second maximum points haul 5-3 with Connor Courtnel, Danny Dixon, Joe Downey, John Adediran, and Cal France all on the mark. Replying for KRCT were John Mearns, Alan Goodhall, and Ben Kearney.

There was hair raising moment in the Maxwell Barber’s Division One with Bushell Athletic inflicting a rare defeat on Wellington FC 2-0. Wayne Gibbons opened the scoring and Ben Glover followed up with a worldie and moved into second place.

Eastham Rangers Colts registered their first win scalping Rig Move FC thanks to marksmen Nath Rowe and Harry Davies.

Woodchurch Rovers picked up their first point of the season with a 0-0 draw at MSC Eastham.

One the mark in the eclipse of Victoria Colts (Mike Williams) in Division Two were Tom Leyland (2), Ryan Morris, Tom Molloy, and Luke Wynne for Prenton FC, who have taken second spot on goal difference.

Saughall FC (Tom Ashcroft (3), Ben Noble (2), Craig Johnson, Andy Noonan, Ben Beard, Terry Ainswoth) found their shooting boots romping to a 9-0 scoreline over Glenavon Athletic.

A Matty Murphy strike and a brace from Robbie Douglas were enough for West Kirby United to maintain their fine form 3-0 over Higher Bebington Kelma in Division Three.

Oval FC shaped up with a narrow 2-1 win at Parkgate Panthers (Hawkins) from Ollie Nicholson and evergreen John Skipsey.

Athletic VH shared the spoils with AFC Raeburn (Dan Owen, Dan Piggott) 2-2, it was Raeburn’s first point of the new campaign.

With the same scoreline, Eastham Rangers (Martin Marshall, Kieran Hodgson) shared the honours with AFC Rangers (Billy Newman, Shaun Anderson) who are both chasing the teams at the top.

AFC Tima (Albie Mitchell (3) and Kyle Pulford accounted for Wirral Athletic (Joe Roberts, Harry Huggins).

The Houlihan’s Birkenhead Sunday Association Football League are now accepting applications for a proposed Youth Division for the season 2023/24 that is scheduled to start in August 2024, any Youth clubs that wish to enter two teams can do so, one team will be known as Youth U/18’s and a second team is normally known as a Colts U/17’s, please visit the League website for contact details.

Images: Bob Shaw. West Kirby United FC v Higher Bebington Kelma

Premier Division Table

1.DOCK FC72014006011810818
2.BEECHWOOD FC7110410520148617
3.QUEENS PARK FC620120140223111212
4.WOODCHURCH HOTEL FC6020310330157812
5.ROCK FERRY SOCIAL62121003121611510
6.GREAT FLOAT SPORTS & SOCIAL FC6011220231151419
7.NESTON NOMADS6101121222111018
8.LANCELYN GLENAVON80112132241219-78
9.KRCT BIDSTON FC81051012062133-126
10.THE LUKES FC8105002107923-143
11.CORSAIR PV6013002015917-81

Division One Table

1.JPL JETS41003004001831512
2.BUSHELL ATHLETIC6211110321115611
3.WELLINGTON FC5120101221151058
4.UPTON TOWN FC31001102108267
5.CHESHIRE CHEESE FC510111121211747
6.RIG MOVE SERVICES FC510111121211927
7.MSC EASTHAM70022122141021-117
8.EASTHAM RANGERS COLTS4111010121710-35
9.AFC SHAFTES7021013034822-143
10.WOODCHURCH ROVERS301200001228-61
11.WIRRAL RADIO FC100100000115-40

Division Two Table

1.WHITBY RANGERS FC51103004102222013
2.PRENTON FC62001213211941511
3.BARCODE FC631001132185311
4.SAUGHALL FC52111003112451910
5.SHERIDANS FC41102003102051510
6.LIONS FC41001112116517
7.EAGLE & STIRRUP FC42000022024406
8.BARKERS ARMCHAIR FC5201002203615-96
9.AFC PARK NORTH5002102104617-113
10.GLENAVON ATHLETIC5002102104626-203
11.POULTON VICS S&S5022001023520-152
12.VICTORIA COLTS6002022024725-182

Division Three Table

1.OLD PARKS FC62102104201981114
2.WEST KIRBY UNITED61003204201871114
3.OVAL FC6111300411159613
4.EASTHAM RANGERS72211103311412212
5.AFC RANGERS72011303311211112
6.AFC TIMA71012033041720-39
7.HIGHER BEBINGTON KELMA5120101221161068
8.PARKGATE PANTHERS6111102213141137
9.PARKGATE ST GERMAIN420100120267-16
10.ATHLETIC VH51110021137524
11.WIRRAL ATHLETIC70131021151532-174
12.NORTH WIRRAL SAINTS5003011014715-81
13.AFC RAEBURN5002012014821-131

Why not follow birkenhead.news on Facebook and Twitter? You can also send story ideas to news@birkenhead.news

Share this

Sign up for our free newsletter using this form

Facebook comments

Latest news