Houlihan’s Birkenhead Sunday Association Football League round-up, 20 March 2022

Great Float Sports & Social secured a place in the final of The Veronica Conway Premier Cup after a 1-1 draw at 90 minutes. Great Float won the tie on penalties at Woodchurch Hotel (Jordan Deer) 5-4.

They await their opponents as there are a couple of cup ties still to be resolved. Dock AFC (Adam Bagley) won their quarter-final tie, also finishing at 1-1 and went through to the semi-final on penatlies with a 4-2 success over Lancelyn Glenavon (Stephan Halewood.)

Saughall FC from Division Two claimed a place in the semi-finals of The David Tacey Cup with a narrow 2-1 win over Division One side Lions FC (Dave McElroy.)

Andy Noonan and Tom Ashcroft were the men responsible with a goal each, strikes from Kie Hughes, Dom Crossley and Brandon Martin for Bromborough Rake earned their side a place in the quarter finals with a comfortable 3-0 result over AFC Shaftes.

After losing on penalties twice in their previous two cup competitions Wellington FC secured a second Cup final appearance. Along with The Wirral Amateur Cup, they now have The Tony Smith Memorial Cup for a possible cup double. On the receiving end this week were fellow promotion hopefuls JPL Jets (Cy Sullivan), on the scoresheet for Wellington were Joe Kelly and Ellis Byrne.

Upton Town made it to the Presidents Cup Final after Brendan Doherty with a double and a single from Alex Pitt sealed a 3-0 win at Neston United.

Callum Sait and Frazer Lucking were the heroes of the day for North Wirral Saints after they secured their passage to The Jimmy Core Cup Final in a narrow 2-1 victory over Barkers Armchair (Lee Grimsley.)

League action saw Rock Ferry Social register three more points on the board in their quest for their first-ever Premier Division title. Josh Dunroe, Adam (Sabu) Smith, and Harry Taylor put them 5 points clear. Their victims this week were Cheshire Cup finalists Neston Nomads (Reece Kerr in a 3-1 result, a close encounter took place at Birkenhead Park with Corsair FC running out 4-3 winners over fellow mid-table side Rivacre FC, Jason Bull, Sam Cafferkey, Lewis Clarke and Jordan Dilworth were the marks men for Corsair.

Match of the day in Division Two saw leaders KRCT FC drop points for the first time this season to last season’s new kids on the block and Division Three runaway winners New Ferry Rangers. KRCT FC dominated the first half but were not able to find the back of the net. The teams went into the break at 0-0, New Ferry Rangers started to get on top in the second half and ready to surge even higher up the pitch. It was a penalty from Tom Taffe in the 70th minute when the deadlock was broken.

New Ferry Rangers doubled their lead in the 80th minute from a close range effort from Adam Larway after KRCT failed to clear from a corner. New Ferry Rangers moved into pole position, it is one of the most exciting times in Division Two with five clubs chasing three promotion places.

Prenton FC, who have hit a rich vein of form, are one of the five clubs now in the mix after recording a 6-0 win at Glenavon Athletic. Luke Wynne and Sean Cookson both hit doubles with Liam Walsh and Lloyd Winkle chipping in with singles.

The whole season could be pivotal on JPL Jets who have to play both New Ferry Rangers and KRCT home and away couple with home games against Wellington and Prenton.

Tom Weaver hit four and all his team’s goals as MSC Eastham sunk Silva Athletic (Martin Whalley) 4-1.

A man of the match performance from Harry Firkins for Barcode FC helped then put some valuable points on the board in their 3-1 win over Victoria Colts. Neil Davies, Andrew McKiver, and James Issac notching the all-important goals, Josh Ross replying for Victoria Colts.

AFC Park North maintained a 9 point advantage at the top of Division Three after posting a 4-2 result at West Kirby United (James Shaw 2.) Ray Upton, Billy Rainbow, Declan Wray, and Leighton Clarke all finding the net.

Whitby Rangers had Brad Bland on hand with a superb hattrick to take the spoils with Raeburn FC who put up a great spirited fight and performance. Whitby ran out 3-0 winners but have two games in hand on the leaders while third placed AFC Tima‘s ‘never say die’ attitude accounted for Old Parks FC 2-0.

Strikes from Michael Simpson and Mathew Vaggers with a brace each and an Aaron Simpson effort were enough for Oval FC to have an outside chance of being in the mix in a promotion spot should any of the leading clubs falter.

Wirral Athletic‘s Jamie Galloway and Harry Huggins found themselves on the scoresheet with a 2-0 over Parkgate St Germain.

The Houlihan’s Birkenhead Sunday Association Football League are now accepting applications for the new season that is scheduled to start in August 2022 in both Open Age and Youth. Any Youth clubs that wish to enter two teams can do so, one team will be known Youth U/18’s and a second-team is normally known as a Colts U/17’s. Please visit the League website for contact details.

KRCT FC (Red) v New Ferry Rangers (Blue) Credit: The Old and the New
KRCT FC (Red) v New Ferry Rangers (Blue) Credit: The Old and the New
KRCT FC Credit: The Old and the New
New Ferry Rangers Credit: The Old and the New
Premier Division
Corsair FC 43 Rivacre FC
Neston Nomads 13 Rock Ferry Social
Division One
Poulton Victoria S&S 03 Woodchurch Rovers
Division Two
Barcode FC 31 Victoria Colts
Glenavon Athletic 06 Prenton FC
KRCT FC 02 New Ferry Rangers
Silva Athletic 14 MSC Eastham
Division Three
Old Parks FC 02 AFC Tima
Oval FC 53 AFC Rangers
West Kirby United 24 AFC Park North
Whitby Rangers 30 AFC Raeburn
Wirral Athletic 20 Parkgate St Germain
David Tacy Cup – Rnd 3
Bromborough Rake 30 AFC Shaftes
David Tacy Cup – Rnd 4
Saughall FC 21 Lions FC
David Tacy Cup – Rnd 3
Barkers Armchair FC 4 (4) (2) 4 Saughall FC
Bromborough Rake PP AFC Shaftes
Lions FC 42 Whitby Rangers
Veronica Conway Cup – Rnd 2
Dock AFC 1 (4)(2) 1 Lanclyn Glenavon
Veronica Conway Cup – Rnd 3
Woodchurch Hotel FC 1 (4)(5) 1 Great Float S&S
President’s Cup – Rnd 3
Neston United 03 Upton Town
Tony Smith Cup – Rnd 3
JPL Jets 12 Wellington FC
Jimmy Core Cup – Rnd 3
North Wirral Saints 21 Barkers Armchair FC

Premier Division Table

1Rock Ferry Social1191136162028
2Woodchurch Hotel1172233151823
3Great Float S&S127142623322
4Rivacre FC1060433201318
5Beechwood SC144643528718
6Corsair FC116052122-118
7Dock AFC1052330161417
8Queens Park134363131015
9Neston Nomads144192842-1413
10FC Bidston122192264-427
11Lancelyn Glenavon121381533-186

Division One Table

1The Lukes FC131201381028365155
2Bushell Grange Athletic13814312011254050
3Bromborough Rake FC10613281612194346
4AFC Shaftes145272733-6172951
5Upton Town1151524222163736
6Neston United125162534-9163447
7Woodchurch Rovers942321183143336
8Wirral Radio FC114072025-5123045
9Poulton Vics S&S124082128-7124134
10Lions FC1110101342-2932431

Division Two Table

1New Ferry Rangers1311113692734
3JPL Jets1283137172027
4Prenton FC1380545252024
5Wellington FC97204073323
6MSC Eastham156183537-219
8Victoria Colts113261129-1811
9Eagle & Stirrup FC133282039-1911
10Barcode FC1523101641-259
11Silva Athletic1530121476-629
12Glenavon Athletic1312101553-385

Division Three Table

1AFC Park North151401462125426366
2Whitby Rangers131102662145336061
3AFC Tima1381431229255257
4Oval FC126152332-9194762
5Barkers Armchair FC1252527243175051
6Old Parks FC1252525241175140
7Parkgate St Germain135172629-3164648
8North Wirral Saints10433302010154938
9AFC Rangers1641112753-26133447
10Wirral Athletic123362242-20124033
11West Kirby United133193139-8104230
12AFC Raeburn1311112350-2743435

Main image credit: RF._.studio

Why not follow birkenhead.news on Facebook and Twitter? You can also send story ideas to news@birkenhead.news

Share this

Sign up for our free newsletter using this form

Facebook comments

Latest news