Houlihan’s Birkenhead Sunday Association Football League round-up, 17 April 2022

A goal in each half from Ben Dufton-Kelly for Wellington FC secured a 2-0 result over a Wallasey side Sheridans in The Wirral District Football Association Sunday Amateur Cup Final.

Wellington are aiming for a treble with another cup final on the horizon in The Houlihan’s Birkenhead Sunday Association Football League and at stake is the Tony Smith Memorial Cup. They are also aiming for The Division Two title.

A brace from Owen Kelsey and a Scott Nickson strike sealed a place in the David Keith Tacy Final for Saughall FC at the expense of MSC Eastham 3-0. Waiting for them are KRCT FC.

Rock Ferry Social sailed on towards that maiden Ryan ‘Giggsy’ Atherton Premier Division Championship after sinking Dock AFC 2-0, thanks to efforts from Liam Driscoll and Adam (Sabu) Smith, coupled with a fine 3-0 win over Woodchurch Hotel FC in midweek.

Woodchurch Hotel, who had high hopes of securing a treble, have been dashed with two consecutive league defeats at the hands of Rock Ferry Social 3-0, with the latest being in a local derby with Beechwood FC Jack McGrotty, Fenton Cavanaugh 2-0.

Queens Park‘s form continues to improve and at the same time dented Rivacre FC’s chances of silverware with a 3-3 draw. On the scoresheet for Queens Park were Max Herbert, Liam Owen and Harvey Sample.

After a 1-0 reversal in midweek to Queens Park, Great Float S&S moved up to second spot with a solid 4-0 score over FC Bidston, thanks to Shaun Farrell, Abe Dobson (2) and James Harris.

Lancelyn Glenavon (Dan Dixon, Peter Pegasiou) accounted For Cheshire Cup finalists Neston Nomads 2-0.

The Lukes are now odds on favourites to lift the Division One title, only requiring one more win to be certain with three games to play. They have secured promotion to the Premier Division.

Chasing the other promotion place are Bushell Grange Athletic who defeated Upton Town 1-0, with a solitary strike from Kieran Frost,

Two key players for Bromborough Rake were Kie Hughes and Kie Delaney who both struck twice to earn a 4-1 verdict over Neston United.

Wirral Radio earned maximum points at Poulton Victoria S&S 3-0, with Matt Lydiate, Tom Boulton and Jack Gibson on the scoresheet.

AFC Shaftes (Ryan Griffiths) played host to Woodchurch Rovers (Ryan Thompson) who traded goals and shared the points, as they did the last time they met earlier in the season.

It is a very interesting tussle in Division two with seven clubs chasing three promotion places. The most notable game at the weekend was Victoria Colts registering a 1-0 win over Eagle Stirrup, who had Gaz Dickenson on the mark,

Basement club Glenavon Athletic (Mike Bayley, Mike Roberts, Nathan Patrick, Tom Foran 2) recorded a superb 5-1 win at Silva Athletic (Samuel Davies.)

Billy Rainbow with a brace in midweek and further strikes from Ben Morris and Jamie Smith firmed up promotion for Division Three leaders AFC Park North with a 4-0 win over Wirral Athletic and followed up with a 5-0 romp over North Wirral Saints thanks to Leighton Clarke with a double, Oscar Sergeant and a pair for Billy Rainbow.

Whitby Rangers had a 1-0 win during the week and won promotion at the weekend after posting a 3-0 success over Oval FC, Brad Bland with a couple and Peter O’Brian with a single.

The chasing pack consisted of AFC Tima who had a surprise defeat at the hands of Wirral Athletic (Craig Mills, Jamie Galloway) and a narrow defeat during the week Barkers Armchair.

Barkers Armchair followed up with a resounding 6-3 win at Parkgate St Germain, replying for Parkgate was Sean Lunt with a hatrick.

A treble from Mike Manser, supplemented by efforts from Dylan Pierce, Alfie Dangerfield and Sean Wright, enhanced North Wirral Saints chances in a 6-3 at AFC Raeburn during the week. AFC Raeburn again fell victims to Old Parks (Mattthew Langford) 2-1, Old Parks are one of the five clubs chasing that elusive third promotion spot.

Wellington FC (pictured) beat Sheridans in the Sunday Amateur Cup. Credit The Old and the New
Goalscorers for Rock Ferry – Adam Smith (left) and Liam Driscoll (right) as Rock Ferry beat Dock 2-0. Credit The Old and the New
Wellington FC raising the Sunday Amateur Cup Credit The Old and the New

Confirmed Domestic Cup Finals For The Houlihan’s Birkenhead Sunday Association Football League

Veronica Conway Premier Cup
Great Float S&S FC V Dock AFC – Thursday 21 April at Ashville FC – Kick off 7.00pm

Tony Smith Memorial Cup
Wellington FC V KRCT FC – Thursday 28 April at Ashville FC – Kick off 7.00pm

Jimmy Core Cup
North Wirral Saints V Old Parks FC – Thursday 5 May at Ashville FC – Kick off 7.00pm

Presidents Cup
The Lukes/Brom Rake V Upton Town FC Thursday 12 May at Ashville FC – Kick off 7.00pm

David Tacy Cup
Saughall FC V KRCT FC – Sunday 15 May at Ashville FC – Kick off 2.00pm

Tony Houlihan Memorial Challenge Cup
Corsair FC V Woodchurch Hotel FC – Sunday 22 May at Ashville FC – Kick off 2.00pm

Cheshire County Football Association Sunday Challenge Cup Final
Dock AFC V Neston Nomads – Sunday 24 April at Vauxhalls – Kick off 11.00am

Wirral District Football Association Sunday Premier Cup Final
Dock AFC V Woodchurch Hotel FC – Wednesday 27 April at Cammell Laird FC – Kick off 7.00pm

The Houlihan’s Birkenhead Sunday Association Football League are now accepting applications for the new season that is scheduled to start in August 2022 in both Open Age and Youth. Any Youth clubs that wish to enter two teams can do so, one team will be known Youth U/18’s and a second-team is normally known as a Colts U/17’s. Please visit the League website for contact details.

Premier Division
Great Float S&S 40 FC Bidston
Lancelyn Glenavon 20 Neston Nomads
Queens Park FC 33 Rivacre FC
Rock Ferry Social 20 Dock AFC
Woodchurch Hotel FC 02 Beechwood FC
Division One
AFC Shaftes 11 Woodchurch Rovers
Bushell Grange Athletic 10 Upton Town
Poulton Victoria S&S 03 Wirral Radio FC
Division Two
Silva Athletic 15 Glenavon Athletic
Victoria Colts 10 Eagle Stirrup
Division Three
AFC Park North 50 North Wirral Saints
AFC Raeburn 12 Old Parks FC
AFC Tima 23 Wirral Athletic
Parkgate St Germain 36 Barkers Armchair
Oval FC 03 Whitby Rangers
Wirral Amateur Cup Final
Sheridans FC 02 Wellington FC
David Tacy Cup – Rnd 5
MSC Eastham 03 Saughall FC

Premier Division Table

1Rock Ferry Social16141152163643
2Great Float S&S159153326728
3Woodchurch Hotel1482433201326
4Rivacre FC1381439231625
5Corsair FC157172931-222
6Dock AFC1363432191321
7Beechwood SC155643728921
8Queens Park175573537-220
9Neston Nomads1742113148-1714
10FC Bidston1731132476-5210
11Lancelyn Glenavon1623111940-219

Division One Table

1The Lukes FC15140143103342
2Bushell Grange Athletic15101436201631
3Bromborough Rake FC1171332171522
4Upton Town157173326722
5Wirral Radio FC157083130121
6Neston United146173339-619
7Woodchurch Rovers125342522318
8AFC Shaftes175392941-1218
9Poulton Vics S&S1541102340-1713
10Lions FC1511131454-404

Division Two Table

1New Ferry Rangers16123147123539
2JPL Jets16114143212237
4Wellington FC1311205794835
5Prenton FC1690750321827
6Victoria Colts146262134-1320
8MSC Eastham166193537-219
9Eagle & Stirrup FC1642102453-2914
10Silva Athletic1931152289-6710
11Barcode FC1823131755-389
12Glenavon Athletic1723122362-399

Division Three Table

1AFC Park North18170158213751
2Whitby Rangers18160285246148
3AFC Tima188464033728
4Barkers Armchair FC158253930926
5Old Parks FC177463329425
6North Wirral Saints156544031923
7Oval FC167183145-1422
8West Kirby United166194241119
9Parkgate St Germain1952123248-1617
10AFC Rangers2052133565-3017
11Wirral Athletic1743102759-3215
12AFC Raeburn1712142863-355

Main image credit: RF._.studio

Why not follow birkenhead.news on Facebook and Twitter? You can also send story ideas to news@birkenhead.news

Share this

Sign up for our free newsletter using this form

Facebook comments

Latest news