Houlihan’s Birkenhead Sunday Association Football League round-up, 14 May 2023

Dock AFC have completed two-thirds of a tremendous treble with wins in The Wirral District Football Association Sunday Premier Cup and The Tony Houlihan Memorial Challenge Cup, that is played for by all member clubs of The Houlihan’s Birkenhead Sunday Association Football League.

In midweek Dock lifted the WDFA Premier Cup for the seventh time after a comfortable 5-1 rout over fellow league rivals Beechwood FC. Adam Lea was again at the forefront with a hat-trick supported by a single strike from Ryan Smith and an own goal registering.

Fast forwarding almost 91 hours later and Dock AFC were triumphant for the eighth time in the Tony Houlihan Memorial Challenge Cup, defeating league newcomers Eastham Rangers Colts who have finished mid-table in the Maxwell’s Barber Division One with a 4-0 scoreline. On the mark again was Adam Lea who notched another brace, supported by strikes from Ben Wood and Jamie Eaton.

Dock are going for a treble of trophies and have one game to play and that is on Tuesday 16 May with a 7.00pm kick off at Vauxhall Motors sports complex against Great Float Sports & Social Club. Dock need to win the game as a draw would let Woodchurch Hotel lift The Ryan ‘Gigsy’ Atherton Memorial Trophy on goal difference.

Whitby Rangers played their penultimate match of the season with a 6-2 win over Division Two runners up Bedford FC (Dylan Doyle, Louis Brown). On the mark for Whitby were Sam Cooper and Brad Bland with a double each plus singles from Dom Hoppe and Matty Hickman.

After the game, Whitby were duly presented with The Division Two Karl Davies Memorial Championship Trophy to go alongside the Tony Smith Memorial Trophy and also WDFA Sunday Amateur Cup after defeating Maxwell’s Barber Division One runners up Wellington FC 4-2 on penalties as both teams cancelled each other out in a 0-0 stalemate.

Whitby Rangers have one more game to full fill and so far are the only unbeaten team in the league (league games only) drawing only once and that was in the first game of the season.

Eastham Rangers lifted the WDFA Sunday Junior Cup in midweek after a 2-2 draw with fellow Division Three rivals, Higher Bebington Kelma. It finished all square 2-2 at 90 minutes, only for Eastham Rangers to win 5-3 on penalties.

Eastham Rangers rounded off their campaign on Sunday with a 3-1 success over Division Three Champions Old Parks (John Wellman) to clinch the third and final promotion spot. On the scoresheet for Eastham Rangers were Martin Marshall, Kieran Hodgson, and Aiden Middleton.

Main image: Dock AFC with the Tony Houlihan Memorial Challenge Cup

Whitby Rangers with a Trio of Trophies, Tony Smith Memorial Cup, plaque that the club keep permanently to mark the winning of the WDFA Sunday Amateur Cup and the Karl Davies Division Two Championship Trophy,
Dock Captain receiving the Wirral Premier Cup from The WDFA President

Premier Division

1.WOODCHURCH HOTEL FC18531810134152173543
2.DOCK FC17503900140352213142
3.BEECHWOOD FC18621522114344261837
4.ROCK FERRY SOCIAL1841462110354133833
5.QUEENS PARK FC183154147293836223
6.GREAT FLOAT SPORTS & SOCIAL FC173242425664645121
7.NESTON NOMADS182164236393237-521
8.LANCELYN GLENAVON1813531544102852-2416
9.CORSAIR PV1822501823132346-239
10.KRCT BIDSTON FC1810811721152770-437

Division One

1.CHESHIRE CHEESE FC20802712151468175146
2.WELLINGTON FC20622721134346271943
3.RIG MOVE SERVICES FC20622712133458292942
4.JPL JETS20442802124451262540
5.BUSHELL ATHLETIC20415721113636241236
6.EASTHAM RANGERS COLTS2071233410463934534
7.UPTON TOWN FC2021743364104437722
8.WIRRAL RADIO FC2030740670132853-2521
9.AFC SHAFTES2012731643133167-3615
10.MSC EASTHAM2010921731161343-3010
11.WOODCHURCH ROVERS2002811813162279-576

Division Two

1.WHITBY RANGERS FC198101000181081156655
2.BEDFORD FC20622901152372343847
3.PRENTON FC20802622142469254444
4.BARCODE FC20622514113646301636
5.SAUGHALL FC19523603112661431835
6.EAGLE & STIRRUP FC205143258393334-127
7.LIONS FC2041531672113451-1723
8.POULTON VICS S&S2042413655102638-1220
9.BARKERS ARMCHAIR FC2031612743133171-4015
10.VICTORIA COLTS2012704616132068-489
11.GLENAVON ATHLETIC20019001001191680-641

Division Three

1.OLD PARKS FC23840722156270294151
2.OVAL FC24723741146452341848
3.AFC RANGERS24624750137458372146
4.EASTHAM RANGERS23632723135551321944
5.WEST KIRBY UNITED24543642118548331541
6.HIGHER BEBINGTON KELMA23552533108564402438
7.ATHLETIC VH244445439873935435
8.AFC TIMA2451642693124958-930
9.WIRRAL ATHLETIC2443550793125277-2530
10.PARKGATE PANTHERS2342522864134464-2022
11.NORTH WIRRAL SAINTS24417111052174349-617
12.PARKGATE ST GERMAIN2331813744152450-2616
13.AFC RAEBURN23218011122191975-568

Why not follow birkenhead.news on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter? You can also send story ideas to news@birkenhead.news

Share this

Subscribe to our FREE newsletter

Facebook comments

Latest news