Houlihan’s Birkenhead Sunday Association Football League round-up, 14 August 2022

After an 11 week close-season summer break the Houlihan’s Birkenhead Sunday Association Football League is back with 48 teams taking part.

One of the eight new clubs taking part is Parkgate Panthers who earned a credible 1-1 draw in Division Three with fellow new boys Eastham Rangers. Kai Everett was on the mark for Panthers while a Jordan Crowder penalty made sure the points were shared.

Also sharing the spoils were Old Parks and AFC Rangers (OG Lewis McKnight, Sam Burke). Honours were also even between Wirral Athletic (Joe Roberts, Jamie Galloway, Anthony Flynn) and West Kirby United (Ben Banks, Will Cannon, Robbie Nairn) by the same 3-3 scoreline.

Last season’s early pacesetters AFC Tima hit the ground running with a comfortable 4-1 success at North Wirral Saints (Mike Manser). Due to travellers setting up home at Plymyards, AFC Raeburn (Dan Piggott, Luke Piggott, Andy Gill) had their game switched to Leverhulme sports field and dipped 3-6 to Oval FC. On the scoresheet for Oval were Ollie Nicholson with a hatrick, and singles from John Skipsey, Rob Blackwell and Matthew Higgins.

The first piece of silverware was decided with Houlihan’s Birkenhead Sunday League Champions Rock Ferry Social lifting the Joey Griffiths Memorial Inter League Trophy 5-0 over Wallasey Sunday League Champions JASGA FC. Rock Ferry Social are one of five clubs who have applied to enter The FA National Sunday Cup with The Lukes, Neston Nomads, season stalwarts Dock AFC, and one of the league founding members Queens Park FC.

Premier Division newcomers The Lukes got off to winning ways 3-2 thanks to strikes from John Strange, Ryan Youds, and Dan O’Halloran 3-2 over Corsair PV (Brad Greer & Nathan Fehily).

Two clubs who fancy their chances to be in the hunt for the Ryan ‘Gigsy’ Atherton Trophy had to share the points in fine 2-2 draw were Woodchurch Hotel (Jordan Deer, Shay Roberts) and last season’s runners up Great Float S&S.

Trading points and goals were Lancelyn Glenavon (Danny Dixon) and Neston Nomads 1-1. Two more clubs who are aiming high this season clashed with Beechwood taking a maximum point haul in a narrow 3-2 win at Queens Park (Ben Kerr, Tom Black), Jack McGrotty and a Ryan Duffy double bagged the all important goals for Beechwood.

Levi Chiduka hit a fine treble for Dock AFC and was supported by a brace from Ben Wood with a further single from Jamie Eaton for Dock AFC who cruised to a 6-2 win at KRCT Bidston FC.

Cheshire Cheese FC had smiles on their faces while making their debut in the Maxwell’s Barbers Division One after easing to a 4-1 verdict at Woodchurch Rovers (Ryan Thompson). The goal-getters for the Wallasey Village side were Anthony Evans with a double supported by singles from Cam Nuttall and Nick Lynch.

Promoted club JPL Jets had a hatrick hero in Kev Day to shoot down new club Rig Move FC (Luke Edwards Callum Doyle) 3-2.

A surprise result saw Bushell Athletic (who narrowly missed out on promotion to the Premier Division by goal difference) went down 2-0 at home to MSC Eastham who were invited up from Division Two had Lloyd Ithell and Zac Tyler-Holland bagging a goal each.

Division Two Champions and treble winners Wellington FC (Ellis Byrne, Ben Dufton-Kelly) had to share the spoils with seasoned campaigners AFC Shaftes (Jack Bell, Ryan Sides).

Division Two action saw voluntary relegated clubs Poulton Victoria Sports & Social (Tom Price, Liam Jameson) play out a keenly contested 2-2 draw with Lions FC (Paul Ryan, Mark Head). Poulton Victoria are now playing at their new home of Poulton Victoria FC.

A solitary strike from Mike Season, who celebrated an early 21st birthday present, to claim all three points over Eagle Stirrup FC 1-0. A double each for Ian Sheridan and Tom Fenley supplemented with a Lloyd Winkle effort got Prenton FC off to a flying start with a resounding 5-0 success at Glenavon Athletic.

David Keith Tacy cup winners Saughall FC had Andy Noonan with a treble and singles from Tom Ashcroft and Craig Johnson claiming the glory over newly promoted side AFC Park North (Tyler Grattan) 5-1.

A very interesting clash took place between new boys Sheridan’s FC and Victoria Colts. Leon Jones, Louis Brown, and Dylan Doyle, all netted for Sheridans while Victoria Colts had Owen Hughes, Shane Towers and Ryan Prescott all notching single in a 3-3 draw. Division Three Champions Whitby Rangers (Matty Hickman) opened up their account with a 1-1 draw at home to Barcode FC (Ross Meadows),

The Houlihan’s Birkenhead Sunday Association Football League are now accepting applications for a proposed Youth Division for the season 2023/24 that is scheduled to start in August 2024, any Youth clubs that wish to enter two teams can do so, one team will be known as Youth U/18’s and a second team is normally known as a Colts U/17’s, please visit the League website for contact details

Premier Division Table

1.DOCK FC10001001006243
2.BEECHWOOD FC10001001003213
3.THE LUKES FC11000001003213
5.WOODCHURCH HOTEL FC10100000102201
6.LANCELYN GLENAVON10100000101101
7.NESTON NOMADS10000100101101
8.BROMBOROUGH RAKE FC00000000000000
9.ROCK FERRY SOCIAL00000000000000
10.CORSAIR PV100000100123-10
11.QUEENS PARK FC100100000123-10
12.KRCT BIDSTON FC100100000126-40

Division One Table

1CHESHIRE CHEESE FC10001001004133
2MSC EASTHAM10001001002023
3JPL JETS10001001003213
4AFC SHAFTES10000100102201
5WELLINGTON FC10100000102201
7UPTON TOWN FC00000000000000
8WIRRAL RADIO FC00000000000000
9RIG MOVE SERVICES FC100100000123-10
10BUSHELL ATHLETIC100100000102-20
11WOODCHURCH ROVERS100100000114-30

Division Two Table

1PRENTON FC10001001005053
2SAUGHALL FC11000001005143
3BARKERS ARMCHAIR FC11000001001013
4SHERIDANS FC10100000103301
5VICTORIA COLTS10000100103301
6LIONS FC10000100102201
7POULTON VICS S&S10100000102201
8BARCODE FC10000100101101
9WHITBY RANGERS FC10100000101101
10EAGLE & STIRRUP FC100000100101-10
11AFC PARK NORTH100000100115-40
12GLENAVON ATHLETIC100100000105-50

Division Three Table

1OVAL FC10001001006333
2AFC TIMA10001001004133
3AFC RANGERS10000100103301
4OLD PARKS FC10100000103301
5WEST KIRBY UNITED10000100103301
6WIRRAL ATHLETIC10100000103301
7EASTHAM RANGERS10000100101101
8PARKGATE PANTHERS10100000101101
9ATHLETIC VH00000000000000
11PARKGATE ST GERMAIN00000000000000
12AFC RAEBURN100100000136-30
13NORTH WIRRAL SAINTS100100000114-30

Why not follow birkenhead.news on Facebook and Twitter? You can also send story ideas to news@birkenhead.news

Share this

Sign up for our free newsletter using this form

Facebook comments

Latest news