Houlihan’s Birkenhead Sunday Association Football League round-up, 12 December

Only 4 matches were possible this week in The Houlihan’s Birkenhead Sunday Association Football League, as it hits the halfway point during week 18 of a 36 week season.

No doubt there will be a two-week extension and hopefully that could be enough to finish the season fully including all cups from National, County, District and Domestic. That is something that has not happened in the past two seasons, the four games that were played last Sunday all had plenty of goals and great action.

Rivacre FC secured their place in the 2nd round of The wonderful Veronica Conway Premier Cup by sinking Beechwood FC (Fenton Cavanaugh 2) 5-4 on penalties after the sides finished 2-2 after the normal regulation time. They will join Corsair FC, Dock AFC, FC Bidston or Great Float S&S. Lancelyn Glenavon, Neston Nomads, Queens Park and Woodchurch Hotel in the hat for the quarter-final draw.

A Ben Kearney hat-trick was enough for The Lukes to steer their way through to the last 16 of the David Keith Tacy Memorial Cup after disposing of Upton Town (Matty Beamon) 3. Neston Nomads surrendered a 2-0 lead with only 30 minutes remaining. Kasey Smith bagged a double for Neston Nomads but poor decisions and missed chances cost them any hope of picking up any points.

Corsair FC fought a great fightback to take the honours 3-2 after Kieran Cartwright, Brad Greer and Lewis Clarke all claimed a goal each. Corsair FC, who narrowly missed out on automatic promotion last season, were invited to fill a void and help balance the Divisions accepted the challenge and are really holding a more than expected position in the Premier Division.

Action from Division Two saw basement club Prenton FC find their shooting boots after hitting Silva Athletic for nine (9), Luke Wynne led the way after bagging a four-goal haul, with further strikes from Jackson McKeever and Tom Leyland who notched a brace each and a single from Tom Molloy.

The Houlihan’s Birkenhead Sunday Association Football League are now looking to bring back The Youth Division in August 2022 and are now accepting new applications for the season 2022/2023, this season’s under 16’s can join as Colts, last season’s under 16’s can come in as Youth especially if some clubs wish to enter two teams, please check the League’s website for contact details

Premier Division
Lanclyn Glenavon PP Rock Ferry Social
Neston Nomads 23 Corsair FC
Division 1
Bromborough Rake PP Woodchurch Rovers
Bushell Grange Athletic PP Lions DC
Division 2
Barcode FC PP Victoria Colts
Eagle Stirrup FC PP JPL Jets
Glenavon Athletic PP MSC Eastham
New Ferry Rangers PP Saughall FC
Silva Athletic 09 Prenton FC
Division 3
AFC Park North PP Parkgate St Germain
West Kirby United PP Old Parks FC
Whitby Rangers PP North Wirral Saints
Tony Houlihan Memorial Challenge Cup – Round 3
Bromborough Rake Rockpoint FC PP Dock AFC
Wirral Radio FC PP Queens Park FC
Woodchurch Hotel FC PP Wirral Athletic
David Tacy Memorial Trophy – Round 3
The Lukes FC 31 Upton Town
Wellington FC PP AFC Tima
Veronica Conway Cup – Round 1
Great Float S&S PP FC Bidston
Barkers Armchair Rivacre FC 22 Beechwood FC
Presidents Cup – Round 1
Neston United PP Poulton Vics S&S
Jimmy Core Memorial Trophy – Round 1
AFC Raeburn PP Oval FC
Wallasey Village FC PP Barkers Armchair FC

Premier Division Table

1.ROCK FERRY SOCIAL830131061124121219
2.DOCK AFC821031152126101617
3.WOODCHURCH HOTEL FC93012215222113817
4.CORSAIR FC93012035041716115
5.QUEENS PARK FC92112124232415914
6.BEECHWOOD FC92211213422618813
7.RIVACRE FC740100240322111112
8.GREAT FLOAT S&S81122023141519-410
9.NESTON NOMADS103130033161927-810
10.FC BIDSTON91030141171554-394
11.LANCELYN GLENAVON8021005026923-142

Division One Table

1.THE LUKES FC86001017012581721
2.BUSHELL GRANGE ATHLETIC83013016022213918
3.AFC SHAFTES93012125132318516
4.BROMBOROUGH RAKE840110250322121015
5.UPTON TOWN82022024041818012
6.NESTON UNITED72111023131722-510
7.POULTON VICS S&S7100204304141409
8.WOODCHURCH ROVERS70112122231516-18
9.WIRRAL RADIO FC70021041061021-113
10.LIONS FC91060021081034-243

Division Two Table

1.ROCKPOINT FC850030080044103424
2.WELLINGTON FC84102106203873120
3.JPL JETS831031062025101520
4.NEW FERRY RANGERS84112006112471719
5.MSC EASTHAM113032035062928115
6.VICTORIA COLTS9111204315925-1610
7.SAUGHALL FC9304002306282449
8.EAGLE STIRRUP FC5101102203817-96
9.BARCODE FC81010151161026-164
10.GLENAVON ATHLETIC81030131161231-194
11.PRENTON FC5001103104617-113
12.SILVA ATHLETIC7101005106435-313

Division Three Table

1.AFC PARK NORTH940040180126141224
2.WHITBY RANGERS940030270252153721
3.BARKERS ARMCHAIR FC102213025232114717
4.NORTH WIRRAL SAINTS730121051126131316
5.AFC TIMA841110151222121016
6.OVAL FC92023025041928-915
7.OLD PARKS FC93011134141918113
8.AFC RANGERS102012144151732-1513
9.WIRRAL ATHLETIC90142202341932-139
10.WEST KIRBY UTD81031122151922-37
11.WALLASEY VILLAGE FC80221031251219-75
12.PARKGATE ST GERMAIN5002012014313-101
13.AFC RAEBURN90150030181336-231

Image credit: RF._.studio

Why not follow birkenhead.news on Facebook and Twitter? You can also send story ideas to news@birkenhead.news

Tap or click the button to like us on Facebook

Tap or click the button to follow us on Twitter
Have you got a Wirral story? Email news@birkenhead.news

Latest news