General election 2024: All Wirral constituencies in summary


Birkenhead has been a Labour stronghold since it was re-created in 1950 but between 1861 and 1918, it mostly voted Conservative.

The town is promised major change over the next two decades as the focus for Wirral Council’s regeneration of the borough through redeveloping brownfield sites around its docks and on the banks of the River Mersey. However, with higher levels of deprivation and a feeling the town centre is on the decline, some are sceptical things can be turned around.

The town’s most recent MP was Labour’s Mick Whitley who is standing down after losing a selection contest within the local party. Former Wirral South MP Alison McGovern, who lives in Birkenhead, is running as that party’s candidate.

Many also still remember the town’s former MP Frank Field who represented the area for four years with people on the doorstep praising his personal approach to politics and responding to concerns.

Six candidates are battling for the seat with the Green Party believing the race could be much closer than polls predict. However, politics forecaster Electoral Calculus thinks Labour have a 100% chance of winning the seat with a predicted 56.8% of the vote.

Their poll predicted Reform on 13.8%, the Greens on 13%, Conservatives on 10.1%, and the Liberal Democrats on 4.8%. Electoral Calculus said they had taken into account recent election results as well as some polling in the constituency when doing their analysis.

What Birkenhead candidates have to say

The candidates are:

 GreenJo Bird
 Freedom AllianceCatherine Evans
 Liberal DemocratsStuart Kelly
 LabourAlison McGovern
 Conservative and UnionistSarah Payne
 ReformTony Stanley

Ellesmere Port and Bromborough

Ellesmere Port and Bromborough will be a completely new constituency split between Wirral and Cheshire.

The new seat will cover most of the former Ellesmere Port and Neston constituency, which was represented by Labour’s Justin Madders, taking in several areas in Cheshire like Ledsham and Wolverham as well as two Metropolitan Borough of Wirral areas Bromborough and Eastham.

The two parts of the constituency are separated by the M53 and it will extend all the way to New Ferry.

Labour is expected to win the seat having won votes in the area in 2015, 2017, and 2019 according to election forecaster Electoral Calculus.

They predict Labour will win 57.9% of the vote with Reform on 16.5%, Conservatives on 12.2%, the Green Party on 8.7%, and the Liberal Democrats on 3.9%.

What Ellesmere Port and Bromborough candidates have to say

The candidates are:

 ReformMichael Christopher Aldred
IndependentRuth Kathleen Boulton
 Liberal DemocratsChristopher David Carubia
 ConservativeLee Evans
 GreenHarry Ross Gorman
 LabourJustin Madders


Wallasey was once a Conservative stronghold but for the last 32 years it has returned a Labour MP to Parliament.

The constituency is one of four seats that cover parts of the metropolitan borough of Wirral covering the council wards of Wallasey, Seacombe, Liscard, New Brighton, Moreton West and Saughall Massie, Leasowe and Moreton East, and Upton.

The seat has been represented by Angela Eagle since 1992 who is running for re-election as the Labour Party’s candidate.

The seat has changed slightly, gaining the northern part of the Upton ward from Wirral West. According to election forecaster Electoral Calculus, Labour would have won 64.3% of the vote under the seat’s new boundaries with the Conservatives on 25.1%.

This time around, their poll predicts 63.8% for Labour, 15.7% for Reform, 9.6% for the Conservatives, 7% for the Green Party, and 3.1% for the Liberal Democrats.

What Wallasey candidates have to say

Seven candidates are running in the seat, the most out of any contest on the Wirral. These are:

 Workers Party of BritainPhilip Anthony Bimpson
 Reform UKDavid Burgess-Joyce
 Liberal DemocratsVicky Downie
 LabourAngela Eagle
 Conservative and UnionistRobbie Lammas
 Freedom AllianceIan Pugh
 GreenJane Elizabeth Turner

Wirral West

Wirral West was once considered a bellwether seat but that all changed in 2015.

That year, Labour won the seat with Margaret Greenwood defeating Conservative MP Esther McVey despite the party losing the general election. This bucked a trend since 1983 when the seat always elected an MP from the party that won the election.

Since then, it has been held by Labour but now that Ms Greenwood has stood down as MP, the field is wide open with five candidates putting themselves forward.

The seat has changed with Conservative voting areas Heswall and Clatterbridge joining the constituency after boundary changes which could swing things in their favour. According to political forecaster Electoral Calculus, they think the Conservatives would have won the seat in 2015 and in 2019 under its new boundaries with Labour only winning it in 2017.

This time around, their latest poll predicts Labour have a 99% chance of winning with 54.1% of the vote while the Conservatives would get 21%. In 2019, Electoral Calculus said they would have won with 45.5% if the new boundaries had been in place based on votes across all council wards in the seat.

What Wirral West candidates have to say

Five candidates are standing. These are:

 Reform UKKen Ferguson
 GreenGail Jenkinson
 Conservative and UnionistJenny Johnson
 LabourMatthew Patrick
 Liberal DemocratsPeter Timothy Clifford Reisdorf


Why not follow on Facebook, Twitter, and Threads? You can also send story ideas or letters to the editor to